Top Menu

Risks

waterpipe tobacco


 

What is waterpipe tobacco
  • Waterpipe tobacco is also known as hookah and shisha. It is a tobacco-smoking device that originated from the Middle East and getting popular in other regions.
  • The main components of waterpipe tobacco are tobacco bowl and water bowl. It is connected with single or multi-hose for inhaling tobacco smoke which heated by the lit charcoal.
  • It is common that flavourings are added to the harsh tobacco in waterpipe to attract youth and non-smokers to use.
  • Design of waterpipe devices are fancy and glamourous which intends to conceal the health risks of the products.
 
Health risks of waterpipe tobacco
  • Smoke of tobacco contains numerous toxicants including tar, carbon monoxide, heavy metals and carcinogens even it passed through water. The concentration of carbon monoxide and carcinogenic PAH is even higher than that in traditional cigarettes.
  • Due to the mode of smoking, including frequency of puffing, depth of inhalation, and length of the smoking session, waterpipe smokers may inhale more toxins than smoking cigarettes. Research found that one-hour waterpipe smoking session exposes the user to 100 to 200 times the volume of smoke inhaled from a single cigarette. It also results in a carbon monoxide level at least four to five times higher than the amount produced by one cigarette.
  • Waterpipe smokers are at risk of the same kind of diseases as are caused by cigarette smoking, including oral cancer, lung cancer, stomach cancer, cancer of the oesophagus, heart disease, cardiovascular disease, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease, reduced lung function and decreased fertility.
  • The combustion of charcoal increases the health risks by producing high levels of carbon monoxide, heavy metals and hydrocarbons.
  • Waterpipe smoking delivers the addictive drug nicotine and causes dependence.
  • Secondhand smoke from waterpipe tobacco is also harmful to the health of other people.
 
Situation in Hong Kong
  • Waterpipe smoking with diversified flavours was offered by some restaurants in Hong Kong in recent years. Waterpipe smoking is positioned as a trendy social gathering among the youth and its adverse health effects are underestimated.
  • The School of Public Health of The University of Hong Kong was commissioned by COSH to conduct a survey to understand the perception of waterpipe tobacco among young adults. The survey found that majority (94.5%) of respondents reporting awareness of waterpipe tobacco. Around 30.4% and 13.4% of respondents had ever used waterpipe tobacco and were current waterpipe smokers respectively.
  • Over one-fourth (27.4%) of never-using respondents were susceptible to waterpipe smoking.
  • Ranging from 0 (lowest) to 10 (highest), majority of respondents perceived traditional cigarettes (9.05) were more harmful than waterpipe tobacco (7.65); and traditional cigarettes (8.56) were more addictive than waterpipe tobacco (6.84). This reflected that young adults underestimated the adverse effects of waterpipe smoking to one’s health.
 
Recommendation of WHO and legislation in Hong Kong
  • The World Health Organization (WHO) recommend a series of regulatory measures on waterpipe tobacco including (1) ban of use in public places; (2) ban of use of flavourings in waterpipe tobacco products; (3) regular increase of taxes on waterpipe and other tobacco products; and (4) ban or restriction on the sale and/or trade of waterpipe tobacco products.
  • According to the Smoking (Public Health) Ordinance, anyone who smokes waterpipe tobacco in statutory no smoking areas will also be prosecuted and be fined of fixed penalty of $1,500.
Back to Top

水煙


 

什麼是水煙
  • 水煙英文為waterpipe tobacco,亦稱hookah及shisha,是源自中東地區吸食煙草的工具,近年亦逐漸於其他地區流行。
  • 水煙的主要部份為煙碗及水碗,通常以煤炭等燃燒加熱煙草,連接單一軟管或多條軟管抽吸煙草煙霧。
  • 除煙草外,往往亦加入香料或其他口味,因此特別吸引青少年和不吸煙人士使用。
  • 水煙壺的設計花巧華麗,意圖淡化其對健康的禍害。
 
對健康的影響
  • 水煙煙霧中的化合物不會通過水而過濾,仍含有大量有毒化合物,包括焦油、一氧化碳、重金屬和致癌物。當中一氧化碳及致癌物多環芳香烴的含量較傳統捲煙草更高。
  • 由於吸食水煙的次數多、吸入煙霧的深度大及每次吸煙的時間長,水煙使用者吸入的有毒化合物份量比吸食傳統捲煙者更多。有研究發現吸食一小時水煙涉及的煙霧吸入量是吸食一支煙的100至200倍,吸食後身體的一氧化碳水平也是一支煙所導致的至少四至五倍。
  • 水煙使用者亦會患上吸煙所導致的疾病,包括口腔癌、肺癌、胃癌、食道癌症、心臟疾病、心血管疾病、慢性阻塞性肺病、降低肺功能和降低生育能力等。
  • 水煙所用的助燃物例如煤炭,在燃燒時會產生高濃度的一氧化碳、重金屬和碳氫化合物,進一步增加吸煙者的健康風險。
  • 水煙釋出的尼古丁,同樣會令人上癮。
  • 水煙的二手煙霧同樣會對其他人的健康造成危害。
 
香港的情況
  • 近年本港部分餐廳有提供水煙產品,更有多元化的口味以供選擇,並將此宣傳為新興社交活動,對身體無害,引起年輕人的好奇。
  • 委員會早前委託香港大學公共衞生學院就年輕人對水煙的使用及認知進行調查,結果顯示大部分(94.5%)受訪者曾經聽過水煙。曾經及現時使用水煙的比率分別為30.4%及13.4%。
  • 在從未使用過水煙的受訪者當中,超過四分之一受訪者有意使用水煙(27.4%)。
  • 在0 (最低)至10 (最高)的量度下,整體受訪者認為傳統捲煙(9.05)較水煙(7.65)有害;認為傳統捲煙(8.56)比水煙(6.84)容易上癮。數據反映年輕人低估了水煙對身體帶來的影響。
 
世界衞生組織的建議及香港的法例
  • 世界衞生組織建議一系列規管水煙的措施,包括(1)禁止在公共場所使用水煙;(2)禁止在水煙製品中使用香料;(3)定期增加水煙及其他煙草產品草的稅率;(4)禁止或限制水煙製品的銷售和/或貿易。
  • 根據香港的吸煙(公眾衞生)條例,任何人在禁煙區內吸食水煙亦會被檢控。違者定額罰款$1,500。
回到最上