Top Menu

Press Release

Elderly Smoking Cessation Promotion Project 2016 “Be Smoke-free for Good Fortune” Elderly Day
2016.10.27
Hong Kong Council on Smoking and Health (COSH) is committed to promote smoke-free lifestyle and collaborate with the community to construct a smoke-free Hong Kong. With the aims to raise the awareness of elderly on tobacco hazards, clarify the misconceptions on smoking and encourage quitting, COSH has organized a smoke-free campaign for the elderly since 2012. The campaign has shared the smoke-free messages with more than 2,000 elderly each year.

This year, COSH organized the Elderly Smoking Cessation Promotion Project 2016 to disseminate the smoke-free message and smoking cessation advices through a serious of activities, including health talks, visits to elderly centres, smoke-free doll workshop, street promotions and radio promotions. A publicity event was held today to further spread the smoke-free messages. The smoke-free dolls produced by the elderly were displayed to reinforce smokers to quit. The officiating guests included Dr Jeff LEE (Head of Tobacco Control Office, Department of Health), Dr LAM Ching-choi, BBS, JP (Chairman, Elderly Commission), Mr Antonio KWONG, MH (Chairman of COSH) and Ms Yolanda NG, MH (Vice-chairman of COSH).

Mr Antonia KWONG, Chairman of COSH pointed out, “Health of elderly is of great concern of the public, but they generally underestimate the harms of smoking to themselves and their family members. Since there are also misconceptions about quitting among the older people, the importance of having a smoke-free life is being overlooked. This year, COSH invited more than 500 elderly to produce the smoke-free dolls which symbolize their wish for a smoke-free environment in order to encourage their family and friends to kick the habit.” COSH will also organize two street promotions on 5 and 6 November from 2pm to 4pm at Tsim Sha Tsui Park Lane Shopper's Boulevard and Causeway Bay Public pavement of East Point Road, respectively, to distribute the smoke-free dolls and to motivate smokers to quit. Elderly volunteers of the New Territories West Elder Academies Cluster, an affiliation of the Elderly Commission, will participate in the street promotions to spread the smoke-free messages.

“At any time, there are so much gains and nothing to lose if you quit smoking”, said Dr Jeff LEE, Head of Tobacco Control Office, Department of Health. He stressed that the Government is committed to enhance the smoking cessation services to help smokers quit smoking and to protect the health of the smokers and their family members. Dr LEE also advised quitters to call the Integrated Smoking Cessation Hotline (1833183) of the Department of Health for free and professional smoking cessation methods.

Attended with his wife, Mr CHEUNG Kam-hon, second runner-up of the 5th “Quit to Win” Contest shared his quit experience and showed his support to the smokers. Having picked up the cigarettes for over 40 years, Mr CHEUNG kicked the habit for better health and to protect his family from the harms of secondhand and third-hand smoke. Strong determination and support from the family were important to his successful quit attempt. Prof LAM Tai-hing, Chair Professor of Community Medicine & Sir Robert Kotewall Professor in Public Health, School of Public Health, The University of Hong Kong, cleared the misconception of quitting and gave tips about smoking cessation to the audience. Artists C AllStar and Phil LAM also joined the ceremony and further promoted the benefits of quitting through interactive games.

Photo Caption


The officiating guests pressed the handle, encouraging elderly to enjoy a fresh smoke-free life by quitting and supporting others to quit.


Mr CHEUNG Kam-hon second runner-up of the 5th “Quit to Win” Contest shared his experience of smoking cessation, while Mrs LEUNG pointed out the benefits to the family and Prof LAM Tai-hing clarified the misconceptions on quitting.


Artists further spread the smoke-free messages with the audience through interactive games.
Back to Top

新聞稿

「無煙老友記」計劃2016-17 無煙是福長者清新日
2016.10.27
香港吸煙與健康委員會(委員會)一直致力推廣無煙生活,與各界攜手締造無煙香港。委員會自2012年舉辦「無煙老友記」計劃,向年長人士宣傳吸煙的禍害、澄清有關吸煙與戒煙的謬誤及鼓勵吸煙的長者加入戒煙行列。計劃推出至今,平均每年與超過2,000位長者分享無煙信息。

今年,委員會舉辦「無煙老友記」計劃2016-17,透過舉辦不同類型的活動,包括健康講座、長者中心探訪、「無煙清新娃娃」工作坊、街站宣傳活動及電台廣播等,把無煙的信息傳遞給更多長者,並鼓勵吸煙的長者戒煙。計劃於今天舉行「無煙是福長者清新日」,進一步宣傳無煙信息。主禮嘉賓包括衞生署控煙辦公室主管李培文醫生、安老事務委員會主席林正財醫生BBS太平紳士、委員會主席鄺祖盛MH及委員會副主席伍婉婷MH。

委員會主席鄺祖盛指出:「我們發現巿民會特別關注長者的健康,但卻低估吸煙對自己和其他人健康的傷害,而老友記們對戒煙有很多誤解,因而忽略無煙生活的重要。因此,委員會今年邀請了超過500位老友記一同製作以晴天娃娃為藍本的「無煙清新娃娃」,以示他們對無煙環境的願望,並藉此鼓勵吸煙的家人和朋友戒煙。」委員會更會在十一月五日及十一六日下午2時至4時,分別於尖沙咀柏麗購物大道及銅鑼灣東角道行人專用區設置街站,並邀請新界西長者學苑聯網的長者義工派發「無煙清新娃娃」,鼓勵吸煙人士戒煙。

衞生署控煙辦公室主管李培文醫生亦呼籲吸煙人士儘早戒煙,因為無論任何時候戒煙都百利而無一害。衞生署一直致力推展戒煙服務,幫助吸煙人士戒除煙癮,保障他們及家人的健康。李醫生建議有意戒煙的人士,可以致電衞生署綜合戒煙熱線1833 183,尋求免費及專業的戒煙方法和建議。

大會亦邀請第五屆「戒煙大贏家」比賽的季軍張錦漢先生及其太太出席,分享戒煙的心得及戒煙為家人帶來的好處。張先生吸煙超過40年,為了自己的健康和保護家人免受二手煙及三手煙的危害,靠著決心及家人的支持成功戒煙。香港大學公共衞生學院社會醫學講座教授暨羅旭龢基金教授(公共衞生學)林大慶教授BBS太平紳士亦支持計劃,並為觀眾拆解戒煙的謬誤和分享戒煙的秘訣。同場更有藝人C AllStar及林奕匡出席支持,以遊戲方式提醒市民戒煙的好處和戒煙的方法等,並為戒煙的人士和長者打氣。

圖片說明


主禮嘉賓按下無煙清新機手柄,鼓勵長者儘快戒煙及支持邊人士戒煙,建立無煙的健康生活。


第五屆「戒煙大贏家」季軍張錦漢先生與觀眾分享戒煙的心得,其太太指出戒煙為家人帶來好處,林大慶教授同時拆解戒煙的謬誤。


一眾藝人透過遊戲與觀眾分享無煙信息。
回到最上