Top Menu

Press Release

Premiere of Education Theatre Programme “Game On Smoke Off” Family Support is Key in Quitting Smoking
2015.10.06
Since 1995, the School Interactive Education Theatre Programme has been one of the major education and publicity campaigns of Hong Kong Council on Smoking and Health (“COSH”) to spread smoke-free messages among children and teenagers. Through cooperation with schools and local professional troupe, COSH urges the youngsters to promote a smoke-free lifestyle. 2015 marks the 20th anniversary of the Programme. Over the past two decades, about 1,600 performances were delivered, reaching more than 440,000 students and teachers. COSH will launch a brand-new interactive theatre titled “Game On Smoke Off”. A premiere was held at Academic Community Hall, The Hong Kong Baptist University today for over 400 students, teachers and media.

Officiating guests of the premiere included Dr Sarah CHOI, JP (Assistant Director (Special Health Services), Department of Health); Prof LAM Tai-hing, BBS, JP (Chair Professor of Community Medicine & Sir Robert Kotewall Professor in Public Health, School of Public Health, The University of Hong Kong); Mr Antonio KWONG, MH (COSH Chairman) and Ms Vienna LAI (COSH Executive Director). Mr Antonio KWONG remarked, "The Programme equipped students with diversified smoke-free knowledge in the past two decades. Students have been deeply involved and impressed through the interactive sessions.

Partnering with a professional troupe, Chung Ying Theatre, COSH aims to deliver the messages of tobacco control along with music, stage effects and interesting presentation to the students.“Game On Smoke Off” is about a video game lover, “Tin Tin”, who helped his father quit smoking by playing a 4D video game called “Smoke-free Adventure” borrowed from his teacher. “Tin Tin” overcame all the difficulties on the way with his father and realized the smoking hazards. They finally fought off “Earl Nicotine” and “General Tar”. But Tin Tin’s father didn’t learn from the game and failed to kick the smoking habit. Luckily, with love and faith, “Tin Tin” successfully encouraged his father to give up tobacco addiction finally. It revealed that family support is key in smoking cessation. The show created a favourable atmosphere for students to learn the hazards of tobacco and the importance of building a smoke-free family.

“Game On Smoke Off” will begin its tours in 99 schools across the territory in mid-October 2015. For details of the School Interactive Education Theatre Programme, please visit www.educationtheatre.hk.

Photo captions:

The officiating guests passed the smoke-free power to the next generation, wishing them to succeed in supporting the works of tobacco control in Hong Kong.
The officiating guests passed the smoke-free power to the next generation, wishing them to succeed in supporting the works of tobacco control in Hong Kong.

The main character “Tin Tin”, together with his father, understood the hazards of smoking through the video game.
The main character “Tin Tin”, together with his father, understood the hazards of smoking through the video game.
Back to Top

新聞稿

學校互動教育巡迴劇場《無煙父子闖天關》家人支持是戒煙良方
2015.10.06
香港吸煙與健康委員會(「委員會」) 自1995年起,一直以學校互動教育巡迴劇場作為預防兒童及青少年吸煙的重點教育及宣傳活動之一,希望透過學校、藝術團體與委員會的合作,推動本地控煙工作,鼓勵兒童關注及推動無煙文化的發展。2015年為學校互動教育巡迴劇場二十週年,劇場先後於全港學校舉辦超過1,600場表演,超過44萬名學生及教師觀賞及參與,深受學界歡迎。本學年委員會推出全新劇目《無煙父子闖天關》,並於今日假香港浸會大學大學會堂舉辦首演禮,率先邀請逾四百名師生及傳媒觀賞,為新一年的學校互動教育巡迴劇場揭開序幕。

首演禮的主禮嘉賓包括衞生署助理署長(特別衞生事務)蔡美儀醫生太平紳士、香港大學公共衞生學院社會醫學講座教授暨羅旭龢基金教授(公共衞生學)林大慶教授BBS太平紳士、香港吸煙與健康委員會主席鄺祖盛先生MH及總幹事黎慧賢女士。委員會主席鄺祖盛先生於活動上表示,「二十年來,劇場向同學傳遞的控煙信息實在非常多元化,透過互動環節,更可讓同學參與其中,深化大家的無煙知識,而且更易記著重點。」

今個學年委員會與專業劇團「中英劇團」合作,以音樂、舞台效果及有趣互動的形式演繹劇目《無煙父子闖天關》,從而推廣控煙信息。故事講述熱愛打機的少年「成天才」為了幫助爸爸戒煙,向老師相借4D實體遊戲「無煙闖天關」,並邀請爸爸一起玩。「成天才」努力帶領爸爸在遊戲中過關斬將,認識煙草的禍害,最後成功擊退尼古丁伯爵及焦油將軍,可惜爸爸沒有把遊戲中所學到的用於現實生活,始終未能戒除煙癮。幸而憑著彼此的愛、信心及回憶,使二人坦誠相對,令爸爸下定決心戒煙,深深明白到家人的愛才是戒煙的真正良方。觀眾全情投入故事,踴躍參與互動環節,吸收了不少無煙知識,決心與主角一起推廣無煙家庭!

首演禮後,《無煙父子闖天關》旋即於10月中開始在全港各區小學作99場巡迴演出。有關學校互動教育巡迴劇場的詳細內容,歡迎瀏覽劇場網頁:www.educationtheatre.hk

圖片說明

一眾主禮嘉賓將無煙力量傳給學生,寓意由下一代接力推動香港的控煙工作。
一眾主禮嘉賓將無煙力量傳給學生,寓意由下一代接力推動香港的控煙工作。

劇中主角「成天才」帶領爸爸在遊戲中過關斬將,了解吸煙的禍害。
劇中主角「成天才」帶領爸爸在遊戲中過關斬將,了解吸煙的禍害。
回到最上