Top Menu

Risks

Third-hand Smoking

 
What is "Third-hand Smoke"?
  • "Third-hand Smoke" means the chemical residual of tobacco smoke contamination that clings to clothing, wall, furniture, carpet, cushions, hair, skin and other materials after the cigarette is extinguished.
  • Nicotine residues will soak into a smoker’s skin and clothing even if they smoke outside. These toxic residues follow the smoker back indoors and get spread everywhere.
  • Tobacco toxins can persist on the surface of objects for weeks and even months after nicotine vapor has been absorbed. Ventilating a room by using fans or opening windows is not sufficient to rid the third-hand smoke.
  • Cigarette smoke contains up to 4000 chemicals and over 50 carcinogens. Though the actual time required for the toxins to vanish from fabric and wall is still unknown, it is believed that the saturated toxics do not literally disappear in a short period of time.
  • Toxic substances in third-hand smoke are as follows: hydrocyanic acid, used in chemical weapons; butane, which is used in lighter fluid; toluene, found in paint thinners; arsenic; lead; carbon monoxide; and even polonium-210, which is highly radioactive carcinogen.
 
Risk Associated to Children
Infants and children are at highest risk than adults as they have closer exposure to tobacco deposits on surfaces of furniture and clothing. As they crawl and play around, they tend to touch and sometimes swallow those dangerous particles, allowing the harmful chemicals to enter their bodies.
 
Health Risks
  • Tobacco particulates have been associated with cognitive deficits among children. The higher tobacco exposure level, the higher risk of getting reading deficits.
  • Studies underscored third-hand smoke could affect reading ability of infants and their risk of getting lung cancer increased by 25% with co-living smokers.
  • Recently scientists have linked third-hand smoke to pulmonary & respiratory diseases of infants, as well as increasing chance of getting asthma and otitis media (middle ear infection), and resulting in poor physique as well.
  • A study published in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences (PNAS) ,authored by researchers with the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, reveals that nicotine could react with nitrous acid (a common air pollutant, mainly produced from gas appliances and motor vehicle emissions) to produce carcinogenic tobacco-specific nitrosamines (TSNAs).
  • Human exposure to TSNAs either by dust inhalation or direct contact of skin. Therefore, TSNAs pose the greatest hazard to crawling infants and toddlers.
 
 
Studies of "Third-hand Smoke"
The first study on health effects of third-hand smoke and household smoking bans was led by Professor Jonathan P. Winickoff, from the Medical School of Massachusetts General Hospital for Children. In the study, researchers surveyed 1,478 household on their opinions on smoking:
  1. 95.4% of nonsmokers and 84.1% of smokers agreed that second-hand smoke and tobacco smoke cause harms to children’s health
  2. Only 65.2% of nonsmokers and 43.3% of smokers agreed that third-hand smoke brings the same harmful effect to children
  3. Only 3.4% of interviewees were not clear about the threats on children’s health by second-hand smoke, but 22% of interviewees did not know the hazards of third-hand smoke on children
  4. The result demonstrated public’s unawareness towards third-hand smoke.
 
Reduction on "Third-hand Smoke"
  • Growing number of countries are enforcing smoking bans in restaurants, pubs and workplaces, aiming at protecting workers’ health. Yet legislation on household smoking bans has not been stressed. Prolonged exposure to second-hand and third-hand smoke in household would seriously affect the health of nonsmokers, especially children.
  • Most adults are aware of the fact that second-hand smoke could harm their health. Therefore, they would take actions like ventilating a room while smoking, outdoor smoking or return home until the cigarette smell is vanished. However, they are not aware of the toxic substances already cling to their clothing. It reflected their lack of knowledge on hazards of third-hand smoke.
  • There is no safe level of exposure to tobacco smoke. Quit smoking for the sake of yourself, and help your family to avoid all harms from smoking. Smokers should quit smoking and avoid smoking in household.
  • Increase smokers and parents’ awareness of how third-hand smoke harms the health of children could encourage smoking bans at home.
  • Government should raise the public awareness on third-hand smoking and emphasize its hazards on the health of children, though education, medical services and legislations.

Source:Jonathan P. Winickoff, Joan Friebely, Susanne E. Tanski, Cheryl Sherrod, Georg E. Matt, Melbourne F. Hovell and Robert C. McMillen. Beliefs About the Health Effects of “Thirdhand” Smoke and Home Smoking Bans. Pediatrics 2009;123;e74-e79

Back to Top

三手煙

 
什麼是「三手煙」?
  • 「三手煙」是指吸煙後殘留在衣服、牆壁、家具、地毯、靠墊,甚至頭髮和皮膚等的煙草殘餘化學物。
  • 煙民就算在戶外吸煙,尼古丁還是會附著在吸煙者身上,當吸煙者回到室內,這些尼古丁物質便四處傳播。
  • 那些凝結在物件表面的尼古丁有毒物質,可殘留數周甚至數月。煙民即使吸煙時開風扇和開窗,都無法消除「三手煙」的禍害。
  • 煙氣中含有4000多種有害物質及50多種致癌物質,雖然目前還不能分類研究這些物質在布料以及牆壁上的準確附著時間,但至少在短時間內,這些附著的有害物質不會輕易消散。
  • 三手煙的有毒物質中,包括用於化學武器的氫氰酸、用在打火機油中的丁烷、在油漆稀釋劑中可見的甲苯,另有一氧化碳、甚至是高度放射性物質釙-210
 
「三手煙」危害兒童
由於幼兒會四處爬來爬去、嬉戲,較成年人更易近距離接觸到殘留物在家俬和衣物表面的有毒煙草物質,他們甚至會把有毒物吃下肚,所以特別危險。
 
「三手煙」對健康的影響
  • 專家指出,煙霧中的微粒,能造成兒童認知能力出現缺陷,暴露在這環境中愈長,孩子的閱讀能力便會愈差。
  • 有「三手煙」讓嬰幼兒閱讀能力變差調查顯示,同吸煙者長期共同生活的人,患肺癌的概率會提高25%。
  • 科學家最新研究發現,三手煙會引起嬰幼兒的呼吸系統問題,增加嬰幼兒哮喘幾率,讓他們體質下降,增加中耳炎風險等。
  • 美國加州勞倫斯柏克萊國家實驗室(Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory)在美國《國家科學院院刊》發表研究指,尼古丁還可與空氣污染物亞硝酸(常見的污染物,在一般室內都可以找到,主要來自燃氣家電,另也常見於汽車廢氣中)產生反應,形成煙草特有的致癌物質亞硝胺(TSNAs)。
  • 亞硝胺主要是經由吸入塵埃,又或透過皮膚接觸進入人體,因此特別影響到四處爬來爬去的幼童。
 
 
「三手煙」的調查研究
美國麻省總醫院的威尼克奧夫(Jonathan Winickoff)教授率領研究員,調查訪問了1,478 個家庭對吸煙的看法。這是第一份有關三手煙與家居禁煙之關係的調查﹕
  1. 95.4%非吸煙者和84.1%吸煙者均認同二手煙有害兒童健康,同意家長吸煙時所產生的煙霧會影響嬰兒及兒童的健康。
  2. 但只有65.2%非吸煙者和43.3%吸煙者認為三手煙也有同樣害處,即認同嬰兒及兒童吸入一間昨天有人吸煙的房間之空氣會影響健康。
  3. 只有3.4%被訪者不清楚二手煙對兒童健康的影響;但卻有22%被訪者不清楚三手煙對兒童健康的影響。
  4. 調查顯示了大眾對三手煙的認知不足。
 
如何減少「三手煙」
  • 越來越多國家在食肆、酒吧及工作間等實施了禁煙法例以保障員工的健康,但各國對於家居禁煙的重視程度明顯比較低。家居令非吸煙者(特別是小童)長期曝露於二手煙及三手煙的地方,嚴重影響他們的健康。
  • 大部分成年人都明白到可見的二手煙是會危害健康的,所以有些吸煙人士會為了保障非吸煙者而採取行動,例如開窗,開風扇以驅散煙味;到戶外地方吸煙,或等自己身上的煙味消散後才回家。但他們卻不知道煙草的有害物質已殘留在衣服上,顯示大部分人對三手煙的認識並不多。
  • 由於曝露於煙草煙霧並沒有安全程度可言,為自己及家人的健康著想,吸煙人士應盡快戒煙,並實行家居禁煙,保障家人免受二手煙及三手煙之毒害。
  • 讓更多煙民及家長知道三手煙對小孩健康有很大影響,有助推動他們在家中實行禁煙的決心。
  • 為令更多人認識三手煙及強調三手煙對兒童健康的禍害,政府應該從宣傳教育、醫療服務及環境健康策略等方面著手,傳遞三手煙危害健康的信息。

資料來源:Jonathan P. Winickoff, Joan Friebely, Susanne E. Tanski, Cheryl Sherrod, Georg E. Matt, Melbourne F. Hovell and Robert C. McMillen. Beliefs About the Health Effects of “Thirdhand” Smoke and Home Smoking Bans. Pediatrics 2009;123;e74-e79
 
回到最上