Top Menu

Publicity Project

“Support Tobacco Tax Increase” Online Signatory Campaign

  
To prevent youth from starting smoking and effectively motivate people to kick the smoking habit, Hong Kong Council on Smoking and Health (COSH) advocates the Government to substantially raise the tobacco tax by 50% to 100% (which means price of a pack of cigarette will increase to around HK$67 to $84) to meet the World Health Organization's suggestion. COSH also suggests the Government to formulate a long-term tobacco tax policy to remedy the reducing price effect because of inflation.
 
Hong Kong Government raised tobacco tax by 50% and 41.5% in 2009 and 2011 respectively, which signified an increase of tobacco tax by HK$8 and HK$10. As a result, the number of calls received by the Integrated Smoking Cessation Hotline (1833183) had been increased by 246% and 49% respectively. It reflected that raising tobacco tax is one of the effective means to encourage smoking cessation. However, the tobacco tax has been frozen for two consecutive years.
 
Price of a pack of cigarette in Hong Kong is now about HK$50 to HK$52, which is relatively low among the high-income economies, such as Australia (HK$111.9), New Zealand (HK$90.6), UK (HK$80.4) and Singapore ($74.3). According to WHO, tobacco tax should represent at least 70% of the retail price. Many countries, such as most countries of EU, England, Singapore and Thailand, have already reached this standard. However, tobacco tax in Hong Kong only accounts for about 65% to 68% of the retail price, which is not sufficient to motivate smokers to quit or reduce tobacco consumption.
 
Please show your support to raise tobacco tax by pressing the button below. Let's encourage more smokers to quit smoking and strive for a smoke-free Hong Kong!
 
    *
Name*
Sex*
Email Address*
Age
 
Thanks for your support. Please answer the following questions to help us understand the views of the public and reflect to the Government.
 
1. I am a:
 
2. In Hong Kong, the price of a pack of cigarette is $50-$52 and tobacco tax represents only 65%-68% of the retail price. In your view, what is the optimal level of the cigarette price so that smokers will be motivated to quit?
$ per pack
 
3. Do you think Hong Kong government should implement a long-term tobacco tax policy to sustain the price effect on smoking cessation?


 
4. Others Comments:
 
Please advise your geographical constituencies and functional constituencies. We will reflect your views to your Councilors.
Geographical constituencies: Functional constituencies:
  * Required Field
   
     
 

COSH will send you upcoming activities and recent news on tobacco control with the personal information provided.

If you want to update your personal information, please inform us by Email to webmaster@cosh.org.hk .
   
 
   
 
 
 
Back to Top

「支持加煙稅」網上簽名行動

  
為了防止青少年開始吸煙及鼓勵戒煙,香港吸煙與健康委員會倡議政府應大幅提高煙稅50%至100% (即每包捲煙加至約67至84港元),以達世界衞生組織(世衞)建議的煙稅水平,並制定長遠的煙稅政策,以避免因物價上升而令煙草價格和稅收措施的成效減低。
 
政府於2009及2011年分別增加煙稅50%及41.5%,煙稅的增幅分別為$8元及$10元。與前一年比較,衞生署綜合戒煙熱線(1833 183)的電話求助個案分別激增246%及49%,數據反映增加煙稅能有效推動戒煙。但政府已連續兩年凍結煙稅。
 
現時香港捲煙零售價格每包約為50至52港元,遠低於其他高收入的地區,如澳洲(111.9港元)、紐西蘭(90.6港元)、英國(80.4港元)和新加坡(74.3港元)。根據世衞的建議,煙稅應佔捲煙零售價的70%或以上,全球有不少地區已達此水平,包括歐盟多國、英國新加坡和泰國,但香港的煙草稅率只為65%至68%,未能有效推動吸煙人士戒煙或減少吸煙量。
 
請各位全力支持增加煙稅,按以下「我支持增加煙稅」圖象以示支持,鼓勵更多吸煙人士戒煙,攜手共建無煙香港﹗
 
    *
姓名*
性別*
電郵*
年齡
 
多謝閣下支持增加煙稅,為無煙香港出一分力。請回答以下問題,以便收集更多市民的意見,向政府反映。
 
1. 我是:
 
2. 香港煙價約為每包$50-$52元,而煙稅只佔零售價的65%-68%。你認為煙價應加至什麼水平,才能有效推動吸煙人士戒煙?
每包$
 
3. 你認為政府應否制定長遠的增加煙草稅政策,令煙價能持續推動吸煙人士戒煙?


 
4. 其他意見:
 
請提供你的地方選區及功能界別,我們會將你的意見向有關議員反映。
地方選區: 功能界別:
  * 必須填寫項目
   
     
 
本會將根據閣下提交的個人資料,透過電郵宣傳本會最新活動及提供控煙資訊。如需更改任何個人資料,請電郵至 webmaster@cosh.org.hk 通知我們。
   
 
   
 
 
 
回到最上