Top Menu

Publicity Project

Hong Kong Smoke-free Leading Company Awards

 
Hong Kong Smoke-free Leading Company AwardsThe Hong Kong Government has made continuous efforts to strengthen tobacco control since the enactment of Smoking (Public Health) Ordinance[1] in 1982 and with several amendments subsequently, by restriction of cigarette contents, tobacco usage and promotion, as well as expansion of statutory no smoking areas to protect the public health. To adopt a progressive and multi-pronged approach in implementing tobacco control policy, the Government took a remarkable move in banning smoking in public indoor areas and workplaces on 1st January 2007. In recent years, the Government has been focusing on smoking cessation services with plenty of resources allocated with an aim to build a healthy living environment for the people.

Hong Kong Council on Smoking and Health (COSH) had organized the “Smoke-free Workplace Leading Company Awards” & the “Smoke-free Workplace Leading SME Company Awards” in 2004 and 2006 respectively, with an aim to encourage business sector proactively set up smoke-free workplace. The campaigns attracted more than 200 forward-looking companies to join, which demonstrated their vision and determination in building a sustainable business environment for long-term development.

This year, COSH is organizing the “Hong Kong Smoke-free Leading Company Awards” again, with full support from Hong Kong General Chamber of Commerce. The campaign aims to advocate a smoke-free culture as a corporate social responsibility and strengthen the role of business community in protecting public health for maintaining a sustainable business environment, to build a smoke-free Hong Kong.
 
Hong Kong Smoke-free Leading Company AwardsHong Kong Smoke-free Leading Company Awards


[1] Indoor areas of all workplaces are designated no smoking areas under Section 3 and Schedule 2 of the amended Smoking (Public Health) Ordinance (Cap. 371), regardless for the purpose of self-employed or being employed, including any part of the place that is set aside for use during any intervals for taking a meal or rest. Examples include shops, offices, workshops, or public areas in the workplaces. Managers of statutory no smoking areas should place no smoking signs in a prominent position to remind the public that the premises are statutory no smoking areas. Managers should maintain such signs in good order.
Back to Top

香港無煙領先企業大獎

 
香港無煙領先企業大獎《吸煙(公眾衞生)條例》[1]自1982年訂立後,政府已先後多次修訂有關控煙條例,不斷加強對煙草產品成份、使用與宣傳的管制,以及擴大法定禁止吸煙區範圍,以保障市民大眾的健康。2007年1月1日起,室內公共場所以及工作間根據條例被列為法定禁煙區,政府近年就控煙和戒煙工作逐步增加投放資源,貫徹以多層次、多向性及循序漸進方式推行控煙政策,為香港市民建立健康的生活環境。

香港吸煙與健康委員會於2004年及2006年先後推行「全港無煙工作間領先企業大獎」及「全港領先中小企無煙工作間大獎」,鼓勵企業自發推動無煙工作間,得到三百間企業和中小企踴躍參與。由此可見,不少企業早於法例訂立前已高瞻遠矚,緊貼控煙趨勢,支持無煙政策,建立可持續性發展的營商環境。

今年委員會再接再厲,並獲香港總商會全力支持,再次舉辦「香港無煙領先企業大獎」,加強商界維護社會公眾健康的重要角色,及展示其企業社會責任,並加強推行無煙香港的理念。
 
香港無煙領先企業大獎香港無煙領先企業大獎

 
[1] 《吸煙(公眾衞生)條例》(第371章)第3條及附表2已規定,在工作地方的室內區域,不論是自僱或受僱的工作地方,包括在工作時段之間用膳或休息時使用的地方,例如店舖、辦公室、工場或工作地方內的公眾地方都是禁止吸煙區。另外,法定禁煙區的管理人應該在禁煙區內的顯眼處,設置清晰的禁煙標誌,以提醒市民該處是法定禁止吸煙區。管理人亦應將禁煙標誌保持在良好的狀況。

 
回到最上