Top Menu

Publicity Project

Elderly Smoking Cessation Promotion Project

 
 

 


 

Background


Cigarette contains over 7,000 chemical substances in cigarette, including three main ‘killers’: carbon dioxide, tar and nicotine, over 70 carcinogens and others radioactive substances, such as polonium 210, methyl and butane etc. Smoking affects the health of both smokers and non-smokers. It causes harms to almost all organs of smokers. Research proved that one in two smoker will die early because of smoking. Substances released by secondhand smoke are found to be more harmful than those released in active smoking. People who are exposed to secondhand smoke will have higher rate to suffer lung cancer, coronary heart disease and other respiratory diseases.

Public’s awareness on smoking hazards has been increased in recent years, but some elderly smokers are misled by the misconceptions on smoking and quitting. They underestimate the health risk of smoking and wrongly believe that quitting smoking would increase the risk of fatal diseases. Thus they fail to take their step to quit smoking.

According to a cohort study on smoking and mortality of elderly Chinese in Hong Kong released by School of Public Health of The University of Hong Kong in 2014 , the excess risk of current smokers were 421% for lung cancer, 501% for COPD and 63% for cardiovascular disease mortality. Smoking kills one in every two elderly smokers aged 65 years or above and one out of four elderly smokers aged 85 years or above.


Objectives

 

COSH has been dedicated to promote smoke-free lifestyle. Currently, there are 615,000 daily cigarette smokers in Hong Kong, in which 23.9% aged 60 years or above. Smokers aged 50 years or above accounts for over 45% of the overall smokers in Hong Kong. In order to meet the needs of elderly and invite them to create a smoke-free healthy life, the “Elderly Smoking Cessation Promotion Project” has been launched since 2012,with the aims to inform tobacco hazards, clarify the misconceptions of smoking cessation and encourage the elderly to kick the smoking habit.

In the Elderly Smoking Cessation Promotion Project, COSH promotes the smoke-free messages through different channels, including health talks, visits to elderly centres, community promotion activities and media promotion, etc.

 

Health Talks


Health talk is organized in an interactive and interesting approach to promote the benefits of smoke-free lifestyle and remind the elderly the importance of quit smoking. Since 2012, COSH has delivered over 290 sessions of health talk at elderly centres across the territory and reached over 15,000 elderly.

 

Community Smoke-free Promotion Activity


To disseminate smoke-free message and promote smoke-free lifestyle with elderly and public, COSH organizes various community smoke-free promotion activities included visits to elderly centres, smoke-free workshops, outreach promotions and etc. Since 2017, COSH collaborated with New Territories West Elder Academies Cluster (NTWEAC), an organization funded by the Elderly Commission, to recruit “Smoke-free Elderly Ambassadors” and organize activities to encourage smoking cessation and promote a smoke-free healthy living style to the elderly. The Ambassadors have been promoting smoking cessation to smokers and disseminating the smoke-free messages through elderly centre visits, other community activities as well as in their daily life.

 

Elderly Smoking Cessation Promotion Project 2019-20


COSH conducted 40 sessions of health talks at elderly centres across the territory and reached over 2,000 elderly.

To share the smoke-free message to the wider scope of elderly and general public, encourage them to support smoking cessation, COSH produced radio segments and invite smoking cessation experts, successful quitters and Smoke-free Elderly Ambassadors to introduce the methods and tips to quit and motivate others to kick the habit. Audio clips were also broadcasted to inform the smoking hazards, clarify the misconceptions of quitting, promote the smoking cessation services and enhance public support of smoking cessation.

Elderly Smoking Cessation Promotion Project 2019-2020 organized a series of community engagement and media promotion activities to enhance smokers’ determination to quit and mobilize non-smokers, particularly the elderly, to lend support to quitters. Recruited by NTWEAC and Asbury Methodist Social Services this year, 42 Smoke-free Elderly Ambassadors joined the Project. The Smoke-free Elderly Ambassador took part in workshops which strengthened their knowledge on smoking cessation, learned Chinese medicine healthcare methods and grasped basic computer application. They created tailor-made social media image messages to encourage others to quit smoking. Successful elderly quitters from NTWEAC and their family members were invited to share their experiences regarding cessation and the hazards of secondhand smoking. Their sharing were also aired on radio.



“Smoke-free Elderly Ambassadors” Appreciation Ceremony was held on 7 January 2020, public health experts and guests engaged in dialogues on the benefits of quitting smoking. Compliments were also paid to the community partners and Smoke-free Elderly Ambassadors for their continuous support to the project and participation in spreading out smoke-free messages. Officiating guests of the ceremony included Dr FUNG Ying (Head of Tobacco and Alcohol Control Office, Department of Health), Dr LAM Ching-choi, SBS, JP (Chairman, Elderly Commission), Mr Antonio KWONG, MH (COSH Chairman) and Ms Yolanda NG, MH (COSH Vice-chairman). Artists Mr Andy LEUNG and Mr On CHAN also took part in the ceremony to promote smoke-free messages through interactive games.





At the ceremony, Prof LAM Tai-hing, BBS, JP (Chair Professor of Community Medicine & Sir Robert Kotewall Professor in Public Health, School of Public Health, The University of Hong Kong) shared tips on smoking cessation. Meanwhile, Smoke-free Elderly Ambassadors expressed their thoughts and experiences in regard to smoking cessation and the harms of secondhand smoking as well as encouraged general public to participate in the smoke-free activities.




 

Back to Top

「無煙老友記」計劃

 
 

 

 

 

背景


捲煙含有超過7,000種化學物質,其中包括三大殺手 - 一氧化碳、焦油及尼古丁,並有超過70種致癌物質和其他有害的放射性物質如釙210、甲醇、丁烷等等,對吸煙和非吸煙人士的健康均造成影響。吸煙幾乎損害每一個身體器官,研究更指出每兩個吸煙人士,有一個會因吸煙而提早死亡。而在捲煙燃燒時釋放的二手煙,有毒氣體濃度比一手煙更高,長期處於二手煙的環境,患上肺癌、冠心病及慢性呼吸病的機會也較高。

近年來市民對煙害的意識已經大爲增強,不過仍然有部份吸煙人士,特別是煙齡較長的人士,受到坊間有關吸煙與戒煙的謬誤所影響,不但低估吸煙對身體的害處,甚至認爲戒煙會引起嚴重疾病等,因此未能下定決心戒煙。

根據香港大學公共衞生學院發表有關吸煙與香港長者死亡風險的追蹤研究(2014),現在吸煙長者死於肺癌、慢性阻塞性肺病及心血管疾病的風險,較從不吸煙的長者分別增加421%、501%及63%。65歲以上的吸煙長者中,每二個就有一個死於吸煙;在85歲或以上的吸煙長者中,每四個就有一個死於吸煙。


計劃目的

 

香港吸煙與健康委員會一向致力向市民推廣無煙生活,香港現時每日吸食捲煙的人數達615,000人,其中23.9%為60歲或以上;連同50歲或以上人士在內,共佔每日吸煙人數超過四成半。爲配合年長人士的需要,鼓勵他們建立無煙健康生活,委員會自2012年開始推出「無煙老友記」計劃,向長者講解吸煙的禍害、澄清有關戒煙的謬誤及鼓勵他們加入戒煙行列。

「無煙老友記」計劃會從不同渠道宣揚無煙信息,包括舉辦健康講座、長者中心探訪、社區宣傳活動及媒體宣傳等,把無煙信息傳遞給更多長者,並鼓勵吸煙的長者戒煙。

 

健康講座


委員會於各地區長者中心舉辦健康講座,以生動有趣的方式向長者宣傳無煙生活的好處及推廣戒煙的重要性。自2012年以來,共舉辦超過290場健康講座,傳遞無煙信息予超過15,000名長者。

 

社區無煙宣傳活動


委員會亦會舉辦不同類型的社區宣傳活動,包括長者中心探訪、無煙工作坊、攤位宣傳等,以向更多長者及市民推廣無煙信息,宣揚無煙生活的好處,並鼓勵戒煙。自2017年起,委員會與由安老事務委員會贊助的新界西長者學苑聯網合作,招募「無煙老友大使」及舉辦活動,支持長者戒煙及向他們推廣無煙生活。「無煙老友大使」會在探訪長者中心、地區活動以至在日常生活中,向其他人推廣無煙信息、同時身體力行鼓勵身邊人士戒煙。
 

「無煙老友記」計劃2019-2020


委員會在各區長者中心舉辦了約40場健康講座,共有逾2,000位長者參與。

為了將無煙信息推廣至更多長者,鼓勵長者多支持身邊吸煙人士戒煙,委員會製作電台節目,並邀請戒煙專家、成功戒煙人士及無煙老友大使,分享戒煙及無煙推廣的方法及心得。同時製作宣傳聲帶,進一步宣傳煙害、消除長者對吸煙的謬誤及增進對戒煙服務的認識,促進大眾對戒煙的支持。

「無煙老友記」計劃2019-2020舉辦了一系列宣傳活動,提高吸煙人士戒煙的決心,並推動非吸煙人士特別長者給予戒煙人士鼓勵和支持。今年,委員會得到新界西長者學苑聯網及循道衛理亞斯理社會服務處的支持,共招募42位長者成為無煙老友大使。無煙老友大使參加了委員會舉辦的工作坊,以增強煙害知識和戒煙方法,更學習了中醫保健知識。他們亦掌握了簡單電腦運用,製作社交媒體圖像訊息「長輩圖」,藉此傳遞戒煙訊息,推動身邊人士早日遠離煙草。新界西長者學苑聯網的成功戒煙人士及其家人更分享戒煙心得及二手煙的影響,他們的故事亦透過大氣電波與市民分享。



委員會於2020年1月7日舉辦「無煙老友大使」嘉許典禮,一眾公共衞生專家及嘉賓透過交流及對話,分享了戒煙的好處。為表揚社區合作伙伴及無煙老友大使的支持及積極傳遞無煙訊息,委員會更特意嘉許。主禮嘉賓包括衞生署控煙酒辦公室主管封螢醫生、安老事務委員會主席林正財醫生SBS太平紳士、委員會主席鄺祖盛MH及委員會副主席伍婉婷MH。歌手梁釗峰及陳健安亦有參與主禮儀式,並透過與觀眾的互動遊戲宣揚無煙訊息。





於典禮上,香港大學公共衞生學院社會醫學講座教授及羅旭龢基金教授(公共衞生學)林大慶教授BBS太平紳士講解戒煙秘訣。「無煙老友大使」跟現場觀眾分享戒煙心得及二手煙的影響外,亦身體力行邀請市民參與無煙活動。





回到最上