Top Menu

Press Release

Enact Enlargement of Pictorial Health Warnings Promptly
2016.12.18
Hong Kong Council on Smoking and Health (“COSH”) urges the Government and Legislative Council to enact the enlargement of pictorial health warnings promptly in order to reduce the attractiveness of tobacco, motivate more smokers to quit and deter youth from trying the first cigarette. Mr Antonio KWONG, COSH Chairman said, “The Government briefed the legislative proposals to strengthen tobacco control on 18 May 2015, including enlarging the size of pictorial health warnings to at least 85% of the two largest surfaces of the packet, increasing the number of forms of health warning from six to twelve and adding the quitline 1833 183. We are disappointed that the date of enactment is yet to be scheduled after more than one and a half years. It is hoped that the meeting of Legislative Council Panel on Health Services to be held on 19 December 2016 will make concrete progress on the proposed enlargement of pictorial health warnings.”

Public support the enlargement of pictorial health warnings
COSH has collected over 26,500 signatures from citizens and organizations through street counters and online platform supporting the enlargement of pictorial health warnings since May 2015. Besides, the Legislative Council collected views of the public on the enlargement of pictorial health warnings as well as other tobacco control measures and Panel on Health Services held a Special Meeting on 6 July 2015 in which various parties give views on the proposals. Of around 100 submissions from different sectors of the society supporting the proposed tobacco control measures, majority agreed the proposal of increasing the size of the pictorial health warnings.

The School of Public Health of The University of Hong Kong was commissioned by COSH to carry out the Tobacco Control Policy-related Survey 2016. It was found that public support on enhancing the pictorial health warnings was overwhelming, such as displaying more threatening messages about the health risks of smoking (79.5%), and regular rotation of the health warnings (69.9%). About 72.5% of all respondents supported to increase the coverage of the health warnings to 85%, and nearly four-fifths (79.2%) of all respondents opted for plain packaging* of cigarettes. Apart from the support from the majority of non-smokers, about half of the current smokers also supported these measures.

Reduce the attractiveness of tobacco
The existing six forms of pictorial health warnings covering at least 50% of cigarette pack area have been used since 2007 and their deterring effect has faded. International research and experience has proved that pictorial health warnings can reduce the attractiveness of smoking, increase intention to quit, and deter youth from smoking. Larger warnings can educate smokers and the public on the health hazards of smoking, as well as prevent the tobacco companies from using gorgeous cigarette packs and massive products display at points of sale for promotion, so as to reduce the influence of tobacco brands to the smokers.

Global trend: plain packaging and larger pictorial warnings
In recent years, many countries have successfully introduced more stringent measures to regulate tobacco packaging. Australia, the first country to introduce plain packaging in 2012, has resulted in a substantial decrease in the smoking population. It proved that the measures effectively raised the intention to quit and prevented youth from smoking. Plain packaging was also implemented in the United Kingdom, France and Hungary in 2016, and will be implemented in Ireland in 2017. More countries are considering to adopt. On the other hand, many countries have enlarged the coverage of pictorial health warnings of cigarette packs, including Nepal (90%), India (85%), Thailand (85%) and Uruguay (80%). The effectiveness of these measures has provided strong evidence and urgency for such approach in Hong Kong.

Dr Margaret CHAN, Director-General of World Health Organization (“WHO”), highlighted the success of plain packaging to tackle the tobacco epidemic at the 16th World Conference on Tobacco or Health in March 2015, and she called for more countries to adopt plain packaging or pictorial warnings covering more than 85% by 2018. WHO also designated “Get ready for plain packaging” as the theme of World No Tobacco Day 2016.

With the Government’s multi-pronged tobacco control policies over the years, the smoking prevalence in Hong Kong has gradually reduced from 23% in early 80s to 10.5% in 2015. In view of the tobacco epidemic in Hong Kong and the international tobacco control trend, we urge the Government and Legislative Councilors to implement the enlargement of pictorial health warnings as soon as possible to safeguard public health. The Government should also actively consider adopting plain packaging within 2 to 3 years and develop long-term and comprehensive tobacco control policies including regulating the emerging tobacco products and e-cigarettes, raising tobacco tax substantially, increasing resources on education, publicity, smoking cessation services and enforcement to further reduce the smoking prevalence in Hong Kong and protect people from the harms of smoking and secondhand smoke.

* Plain packaging standardizes and simplifies the packaging of tobacco products. The pictorial health warnings on the main sides of cigarette pack are expanded. All forms of tobacco branding should be labeled according to the government prescriptions and with simple and plain format. This means that trademarks, graphics and logos are not allowed on cigarette packs, except for the brand name that is displayed in a standard font size, colour and location on the package. The packaging should not contain other colours and should include only the content and consumer information, such as toxic constituents, and health warnings required by law. The quitline number should also be displayed at a prominent position.

Photo Caption


Future tobacco products display at newspaper stall (pictorial health warnings enlarged to 85%). Attractiveness of tobacco is reduced (especially to the youth) and products display at points of sale for promotion is prevented due to the clearer pictorial health warnings. (mock up in the photo)
Back to Top

新聞稿

促請儘快落實擴大煙包上的煙害圖象警示
2016.12.18
香港吸煙與健康委員會(「委員會」)促請政府及立法會儘快落實擴大煙包上的煙害圖象警示,以減低煙草的吸引力,推動更多吸煙人士戒煙,同時預防青少年開始吸煙,保障公眾健康。委員會主席鄺祖盛表示,「政府早於2015年5月18日首次提交加強控煙措施的立法建議,包括將煙害圖象警示面積擴大至最少佔煙包兩個表面的85%,並將警示的款式數目由六個增加至十二個,同時加上戒煙熱線1833 183。建議距今已逾一年半,但措施落實時間仍然無期,委員會深表遺憾,希望有關建議可於2016年12月19日舉行的立法會衞生事務委員會會議取得良好進展,並儘快落實推行。」

巿民支持擴大圖象警示
自去年5月起,委員會從街頭及網上收集了超過26,500個市民及機構簽名,支持擴大煙害圖象警示。而立法會亦就擴大煙害圖象警示及其他控煙措施進行公眾諮詢,並於2015年7月6日舉行衞生事務委員會特別會議,各界人士及團體積極表達意見,在接近100份贊同有關控煙措施的公眾意見書中,大部分支持擴大煙害圖象警示,由此可見市民對加強控煙工作的期望。

根據委員會委託香港大學公共衞生學院進行的「控煙政策調查2016」,公眾對於加強煙包煙害圖象警示的支持度很高,例如支持顯示更具警嚇力的煙害警示 (79.5%),以及定期轉換煙害警示(69.9%)。是次研究亦發現72.5%的受訪者支持擴大煙害警示至佔煙包面積的85%,並且有近八成(79.2%)的受訪者表示支持「全煙害警示包裝」* 。除了絕大部分不吸煙人士支持上述措施外,亦有近半數現時吸煙者支持。

有效減低煙草吸引力
香港現時使用的六款煙害圖象警示最少佔煙包面積50%,自2007年起沿用,警示作用逐漸消退。研究證實煙害圖象警示可以有效減低吸煙的吸引力、提高戒煙意欲及預防青少年開始吸煙。將圖象警示面積擴大可以教育和提高吸煙人士及市民對煙草禍害的認識,同時更可限制煙草商利用亮麗的煙包包裝及於銷售點當眼處大量陳列煙草產品作宣傳推廣,減低煙草品牌對吸煙人士的影響力。

世界控煙趨勢
近年不少國家均已對煙草產品包裝推行更嚴格及有效的措施,澳洲於2012年成為首個實施「全煙害警示包裝」的國家後,吸煙率錄得大幅度的下降,可見有關措施有效提升戒煙意欲及預防青少年開始吸煙。而英國、法國、匈牙利及愛爾蘭分別於2016及2017年落實有關措施,並將陸續有更多國家採用。另一方面,不少國家已經擴大煙包上的煙害圖象警示,例如尼泊爾(90%)、印度(85%)、泰國(85%)及烏拉圭(80%)。各國措施的成效顯著,他們的成功經驗提供實證予香港和其他地區仿傚。

世界衞生組織總幹事陳馮富珍博士在2015年3月於第十六屆世界煙草與健康會議上特別指出「全煙害警示包裝」的控煙成效,鼓勵其他國家於2018年前推行「全煙害警示包裝」或擴大圖象警示至煙包面積85%。世界衞生組織更以「全煙害警示包裝」作為2016年世界無煙日的主題,呼籲所有國家為實施「全煙害警示包裝」作準備。

政府多年來一直推行多管齊下的控煙政策,將吸煙率由80年代初的23%逐步降至2015年的10.5%。隨著香港煙草使用情況的改變及全球控煙趨勢,委員會懇請政府及立法會議員儘快落實擴大煙包上的煙害圖象警示,以確保公眾健康得到保障。政府亦應研究於未來兩至三年推行「全煙害警示包裝」,並制定長遠及全面的控煙政策,包括規管新興的煙草產品及電子煙、增加煙草稅、加強教育及宣傳推廣、提升戒煙服務及執法等,進一步降低香港的吸煙率,以免巿民受到煙草及二手煙的傷害。

*「全煙害警示包裝」主要統一簡化煙盒包裝,並作出多項規範,包括擴大煙包上的煙害圖象警示,而任何形式的煙草品牌只可按規定及以簡單方式展現,包括禁止在煙包上展示商標、圖案及標誌;品牌名稱只可以統一的字款、顏色及位置展現在煙包上。同時,煙包不可有指定以外的顏色,並只按法律規定,展示必需資訊予消費者,例如有害物質成分及煙害警示。此外,更須清晰顯示戒煙熱線。

圖片說明


將來書報攤展示煙草產品的情況(煙害圖象警示擴大至佔煙包85%),清晰看見圖象警示,減低煙草的吸引力(特別是對青少年而言),避免煙草商藉著展示產品作宣傳。(圖中為模擬煙包樣本)


回到最上