Top Menu

Press Release

COSH response to the tobacco control policies proposed by The Budget
2016.02.24
Hong Kong Council on Smoking and Health (COSH) expressed disappointment for the decision of the Financial Secretary in The 2016-17 Budget that the tobacco tax will not be raised.

Mr Antonio KWONG, COSH Chairman reiterated, “Raising tobacco tax is one of the effective measures to lower the smoking prevalence and safeguard the public health in Hong Kong. A relative large increase in tobacco tax has proven significant in encouraging smoking cessation in the past. Therefore, COSH has sent an open letter to the Financial Secretary to call for raising tobacco tax by 100%. Tobacco tax is again frozen this year which will further weaken the price effect on reducing tobacco consumption.”

According to the World Health Organization (WHO), raising tobacco tax is the single most effective measure to reduce tobacco use and encourage smoking cessation. In Hong Kong, calls received by the Integrated Smoking Cessation Hotline of the Department of Health increased drastically after substantial increase in tobacco tax in the past. It was a solid evidence of the effectiveness of tobacco tax on motivating smoking cessation. The WHO’s Report on the Global Tobacco Epidemic 2015 recommended that raising tobacco tax to more than 75% of the retail price is among the most effective and cost-effective tobacco control intervention which costs little to implement and increases government revenues. Over 30 countries have raised tobacco tax to more than 75% of the retail price.

Cigarette price of the major brands in Hong Kong is about HK$55 per pack. Tobacco tax is accounted for about 69% only. It is also low when compared to other developed regions such as Australia (about HK$124), New Zealand (about HK$113), United Kingdom (about HK$99) and Singapore (about HK$81). According to Dr Hana ROSS, an international expert of tobacco control economics, the real price of Hong Kong cigarette in 2013 had increased by only 25% from 1989 after deducting inflation. Besides, the average income in Hong Kong also raised, meaning that the affordability on tobacco products of Hong Kong smokers had actually increased.

COSH reaffirms that there is no causal link between tobacco tax increase and illicit cigarette smuggling. However, the tobacco industry and its supporting organizations continue to exaggerate the situation of smuggling in Hong Kong and express strong opposition against tobacco tax increase under the pretext that it will lead to a surge in illicit cigarette smuggling. WHO has already rejected the data of the organizations supported by the tobacco industry, e.g. International Tax and Investment Centre, which intended to undermine the tobacco tax and price policy. It is unreasonable and ineffective to solve the smuggling problem by freezing tobacco tax. The most effective measure to combat smuggling and illegal trade of tobacco products is strict enforcement.

Tobacco use is a huge burden to individuals as well as the whole society. Smoking not only causes about 7,000 loss of lives in Hong Kong every year, but also incurs considerable medical expenses and loss of productivity. COSH strongly advises the Government to formulate a proactive and long-term policy on raising tobacco tax. The Government should also strengthen the multi-pronged tobacco control measures, including allocating more resources on smoke-free education, smoking cessation services and enforcement to combat smuggling in order to reduce the smoking prevalence to single digit and achieve a smoke-free Hong Kong as soon as possible.

Back to Top

新聞稿

委員會回應財政預算案的控煙措施
2016.02.24
香港吸煙與健康委員會(委員會)對財政司司長於2016至17年財政預算案中,未能增加煙草稅的決定表示失望。

委員會主席鄺祖盛強調,「增加煙草稅是降低吸煙率和保障市民健康的其中一項有效措施,過去大幅調高煙草稅的成效均立竿見影。因此,委員會早前致函財政司司長要求增加煙草稅100%。香港政府今年再次凍結煙草稅,將進一步削弱價格對減低煙草需求的作用。」

根據世界衞生組織 (世衞),增加煙草稅被確認為最有效減低煙草使用及鼓勵戒煙的單一措施。香港過往大幅調高煙草稅後,衞生署綜合戒煙熱線的查詢數目大幅增加,反映增加煙草稅促進了吸煙人士的戒煙意欲,成效不容置疑。《2015年世界衞生組織全球煙草流行報告》指出,將煙草稅提高至零售價格的75%或以上是最有效和最具成本效益的煙草控制措施,實施成本低而且可增加政府收入。現時已有超過30個國家將煙草稅定於捲煙價格的75%或以上。

香港主要品牌的捲煙約為每包港幣55元,煙草稅只佔零售價約69%。相對其他已發展地區價格亦偏低,如澳洲(約港幣124元)、新西蘭(約港幣113元)、英國(約港幣99元)及新加坡(約港幣81元)。根據煙草控制經濟學專家羅夏麗博士的研究,香港捲煙價格在1989年至2013年期間,在扣除通脹後的實際格價僅上升25%。加上本港人均收入於這段期間亦有所增加,以致香港吸煙人士的煙草產品可負擔能力並未有因煙草稅增加而減低,反而有所上升。

委員會重申增加煙草稅和走私煙並沒有必然關係。但煙草業及其有關機構仍以此作為反對增加煙草稅的藉口,並誇大香港的私煙情況。世衞已揭露煙草業所贊助的機構 (如國際稅務和投資中心) 提出偏頗的數據,是企圖影響各國的煙稅政策和削弱控煙工作的成效。他們提出凍結煙稅以解決私煙問題亦欠缺理據及效用,加強執法才是打擊私煙的最有效方法。

煙草使用對市民及社會整體均是一項沉重的負擔。吸煙不但令香港每年近7,000人死亡,更造成龐大的醫療服務開支和生產力損失。委員會促請政府制定積極及長遠的煙草稅政策,同時以多管齊下的方式推動控煙工作,包括增撥資源以加強教育宣傳、強化戒煙服務及打擊私煙等,儘快使香港吸煙率下降至單位數字,逐步實現無煙香港的目標。
回到最上