Top Menu

Press Release

Successful Quitters’ Sharing cum The 5th “Quit to Win” Prize Presentation Ceremony Quit smoking now! No excuse
2015.03.06
Hong Kong Council on Smoking and Health (COSH) launched a publicity campaign targeting the middle-aged smokers today (6 Mar) under the theme of “Quit smoking now! No excuse” to alert the general public on the health hazards of smoking, to motivate smokers to quit as soon as possible and to create a social atmosphere for a smoke-free Hong Kong. COSH also presented prize to the winners of the 5th “Quit to Win” Smoke-free Community Campaign and commended the District Councils and district organizations for their support.

Officiating guests included Prof Sophia CHAN, JP (Under Secretary for Food and Health), Dr Sarah CHOI, JP (Assistant Director (Special Health Services), Department of Health), Prof LAM Tai-hing, BBS, JP (Chair Professor of Community Medicine & Sir Robert Kotewall Professor in Public Health, School of Public Health, The University of Hong Kong), Mr Antonio KWONG, MH (COSH Chairman) and Ms Yolanda NG, MH (COSH Vice-chairman).

Prof Sophia CHAN, Under Secretary for Food and Health remarked that the Government has joined hands with various non-governmental organizations in recent years by leveraging their strengths to roll out different types of free smoking cessation services, such as counseling, Chinese acupuncture and corporate smoking cessation programmes to cater for the needs of quitters and provide appropriate assistance.

COSH has been organizing the “Quit to Win” Smoke-free Community Campaign since 2009 recruiting over 1,000 smokers each year. With the continuous support of the 18 District Councils and district organizations, COSH rolled out the 5th “Quit to Win” Smoke-free Community Campaign in 2014 to convey the smoke-free messages to every corner of the society. Over 60 recruitment sessions and promotion activities were organized across the territory from June to September 2014 and attracted over 1,300 smokers to sign up and receive smoking cessation counseling.

COSH awarded the winners of the 5th “Quit to Win” Smoke-free Community Campaign with travel vouchers during the event. The champion, Mr LEE Hing-lim had smoked for more than 20 years. He had quitted for seven years but relapsed when he worked in mainland China. He could not resist the temptation as the clients distributed cigarettes to everyone in the meeting and he smoked again. He joined the “Quit to Win” smoking cessation contest to protect his wife and daughter from the hazards of secondhand and third-hand smoke. He claimed that determination was crucial to kick the habit. Quitters should also inform more people on their decision who could be their monitor. Mr Lee uploaded his certificate of smoking cessation to social media and got enormous “Like”.

The first runner-up Ms CHAN Yuk-kam spent over 20 years as a smoker and smoked one packet every day. After joining the contest, Ms Chan started to decrease the number of cigarettes she smoked until zero. She has got promoted after kicking the bad habit which she regarded as a bonus. Her supervisor noticed that she spent more time on working and no longer had the bad smell of smoke. The second runner-up Mr CHEUNG Kam-hon had smoked for more than 40 years. He got lymphoma cancer in 2007. But he continued to smoke even when the doctor advised him to stop. Mr Cheung’s decision to kick the smoking habit was a coincidence when he ran into the recruitment counter of “Quit to Win” in a shopping mall. With his determination, he quitted finally and his wife was the happiest one. His tips on cessation are deep breathing and eating candy to divert attention.

The 6th “Quit to Win” Smoke-free Community Campaign will be held in 2015. Recruitment will start in June. Stay tuned and details can be found at www.quittowin.hk.

On the other hand, COSH invited five successful quitters* from different backgrounds to share their inspiring smoking cessation stories and tips under the theme of “Quit smoking now! No excuse” to encourage the middle-aged smokers to kick the habit. They are Mr Pal SINN (artist), Mr HON Man-kwai (laryngectomee), Mr LEE Hing-lim (Champion of the 5th “Quit to Win” Smoke-free Community Campaign), Ms Montagut Chuen (animator) and Prof Patrick WONG Lung-tak, BBS, JP (accountant). A series of short episodes were produced and would be broadcasted in various platforms.

Mr Antonio KWONG, COSH Chairman said, “COSH is delighted to have five successful quitters from different background to share their experiences and difficulties, such as high nicotine dependency, failure in quitting and illnesses which many smokers may encounter. It is hoped that their stories evokes resonance among smokers and encouraged them to quit.

Mr Pal SINN composed a brand new cessation song for the campaign by managing the melody, lyric, music arrangement and vocal. Famous musician, Mr Mark LUI, who has quitted smoking earlier, was invited to be the music director. The song is to support the quitters and to promote the advantages of cessation. For details of the quitters’ stories and cessation song, please visit www.smokefree.hk/quitters. During the event, artists Ms Natalie TONG, Mr Sheldon LO, Mr Adrian CHOW and Mr James NG also spread the smoke-free messages through interesting games.

Photo caption:
(4th from left on back row) Yolanda NG, MH (COSH Vice-chairman), Prof LAM Tai-hing, BBS, JP (Chair Professor of Community Medicine & Sir Robert Kotewall Professor in Public Health, School of Public Health, The University of Hong Kong), Prof Sophia CHAN, JP (Under Secretary for Food and Health), Mr Antonio KWONG, MH (COSH Chairman) and Dr Sarah CHOI, JP (Assistant Director (Special Health Services), Department of Health) officiated the premiere of the episodes “Quit smoking now! No excuse”.
(4th from left on back row) Yolanda NG, MH (COSH Vice-chairman), Prof LAM Tai-hing, BBS, JP (Chair Professor of Community Medicine & Sir Robert Kotewall Professor in Public Health, School of Public Health, The University of Hong Kong), Prof Sophia CHAN, JP (Under Secretary for Food and Health), Mr Antonio KWONG, MH (COSH Chairman) and Dr Sarah CHOI, JP (Assistant Director (Special Health Services), Department of Health) officiated the premiere of the episodes “Quit smoking now! No excuse”.

Five successful quitters (from left) Prof Patrick WONG Lung-tak, Mr Pal SINN, Mr LEE Hing-lim, Ms Montagut Chuen and Mr Anthony TANG share their inspiring stories to encourage smokers to quit.
Five successful quitters (from left) Prof Patrick WONG Lung-tak, Mr Pal SINN, Mr LEE Hing-lim, Ms Montagut Chuen and Mr Anthony TANG share their inspiring stories to encourage smokers to quit.

COSH thanked the support of the 18 District Councils and district organizations to the 5th “Quit to Win” Smoke-free Community Campaign.
COSH thanked the support of the 18 District Councils and district organizations to the 5th “Quit to Win” Smoke-free Community Campaign.

*Stories of Successful Quitters:

Mr Pal SINN, artist
Mr Pal SINN had smoked for 30 years since he was 17. He knew smoking was hazardous to health and yet he continued to smoke with different excuses such as for refreshment, social needs and inspiration. On his 47-years-old birthday, he decided to quit smoking and restore health as the best gift to himself. Pal has kicked the smoking habit for 9 years and he reiterated that smoking had nothing to do with socializing.

Mr HON Man-guai, recovered from laryngeal cancer
Mr HON Man-guai picked up the smoking habit when he was 13. All of his colleagues in nightclub were smokers and he could consume 4 to 5 packs of cigarette per day. In 1989, Hon started to have a hoarse voice and even completely lost his voice. He was diagnosed with laryngeal cancer and he kicked the habit before the surgery. HON felt relieved and more energetic after saying no to smoking and recovering from cancer. He is now the vice-chairman of The New Voice of Hong Kong helping the laryngeal cancer survivors to rebuild their lives and actively disseminating smoke-free message to every corner of the city.

Ms Montagut Chuen, animator
Ms Montagut Chuen tried her first cigarette when she was a form 3 secondary school student. In 2005, when she was 22-years-old, Montagut Chuen was diagnosed with nasopharyngeal cancer. She has recovered and now records the sweets and bitters during her illness through painting to comfort the survivors from deadly diseases especially those who have been harmed by tobacco. As a nasopharyngeal cancer survivor, she still suffers from nosebleeds when she smells the cigarette smoke.

Mr Patrick WONG Lung-tak, Accountant
Mr Partick WONG Lung-tak started to smoke at 15 due to curiosity and peer pressure. He used to consume 3 packs of cigarette a day and the bad smell of smoking caused him missing lots of valuable family time as his kids refused to get close to him. He restored his happy family life by quitting smoking as a gift to his kids in 1995. His health was greatly improved and he doesn’t have to gasp for breath anymore. In order to promote smoke-free message, Patrick acts as a role model to encourage smokers to quit by setting up the Quit-Winners Club.
Back to Top

新聞稿

「藉口‧實戒得甩」分享會暨「戒煙大贏家」頒獎禮 鼓勵吸煙人士別再找藉口 應儘快戒煙
2015.03.06
為提高公眾對吸煙禍害的認識、鼓勵吸煙人士儘早戒煙,同時營造一個無煙香港的氛圍,香港吸煙與健康委員會(委員會)於今天 (3月6日) 以「藉口‧實戒得甩」為主題,推出以中年吸煙人士為目標對象的戒煙宣傳推廣計劃,並於活動上嘉許第五屆「戒煙大贏家」無煙社區計劃的優勝者,以及答謝18區區議會和地區機構的支持。

主禮嘉賓包括食物及衞生局副局長陳肇始教授太平紳士、衞生署助理署長(特別衞生事務)蔡美儀醫生太平紳士、香港大學公共衞生學院社會醫學講座教授暨羅旭龢基金教授(公共衞生學)林大慶教授BBS太平紳士、香港吸煙與健康委員會主席鄺祖盛MH及副主席伍婉婷MH。

食物及衞生局副局長陳肇始教授致辭時表示,近年政府積極與不同的非政府組織及慈善機構合作,結合他們在不同範疇的專業力量,開拓多元化的免費戒煙服務,包括戒煙輔導、中醫針灸、企業戒煙計劃等等,為有不同需要的人士提供適切的支援,令戒煙變得更容易及輕鬆。

委員會自2009年起舉辦「戒煙大贏家」比賽,每年均成功招募超過一千名吸煙人士加入戒煙行列,去年委員會再度獲得全港18區區議會全力支持,推出第五屆「戒煙大贏家」無煙社區計劃,透過各區區議會、轄下工作小組及地區組織將戒煙資訊滲透至社區不同角落。委員會於去年6月至9月期間,與各地區組織合作在18區舉辦了逾60場招募及宣傳活動,成功吸引超過1,300名吸煙人士下定決心戒煙,接受戒煙輔導及跟進,重投無煙健康生活。

委員會藉是次活動嘉許第五屆「戒煙大贏家」無煙社區推廣計劃的優勝者,各人均獲贈旅遊禮券以示鼓勵。「戒煙大贏家」冠軍得主李興廉煙齡超過20年,曾經戒煙長達七年,至2013年,由於到中國內地工作,客戶於開會期間不斷派發煙仔給與會人士,因為不好意思拒絕,故再次復吸。期後,李先生看見報章上「戒煙大贏家」的廣告,為了妻子及女兒的健康,故下定決心戒煙。他認為戒煙主要靠意志力,同時亦要讓更多人知道,可以成為自己的監察者。李先生將成功戒煙的證書上載至社交網站,得到的「讚」是前所未有地多。

「戒煙大贏家」亞軍得主陳玉琴煙齡超過20年,平均每日吸一包煙。參加比賽後逐步減少每日吸煙的支數,到最後完全停止。戒煙後最大的得著是獲升職,因為上司留意到陳小姐將更多時間花在工作上,而身上的煙味也沒有了。「戒煙大羸家」季軍得主張錦漢吸煙四十多年,於2007年曾患淋巴癌,醫生也勸告戒煙,但他仍然無動於衷。有一次在商場巧遇「戒煙大贏家」招募攤位而參加,憑著他不認輸的性格及決心,最後戒煙成功,太太知道後即笑到合不攏嘴,而他抵抗煙癮的秘訣是深呼吸及食糖以分散注意力。

「戒煙大贏家」無煙社區計劃將於今年再度舉辦,並於6月開始進行招募,有興趣的市民請密切留意委員會的最新公佈,詳情可參閱網頁www.quittowin.hk

此外,為鼓勵中年人士戒煙,委員會以「藉口‧實戒得甩」為主題,邀請了五位不同背景的成功戒煙人士*,分享他們的勵志戒煙故事及心得,包括藝人單立文、喉癌康復者韓文貴、第五屆「戒煙大贏家」冠軍李興廉、動畫師夢特嬌‧全,以及會計師黃龍德教授BBS太平紳士,並製作了一系列短片及廣告,將於不同媒體播放。

委員會主席鄺祖盛說,「委員會很榮幸可以邀請到五位不同界別的戒煙人士協助宣傳,他們的戒煙經歷及困難都是吸煙者經常會遇到的,例如煙癮深、戒好幾次煙都未成功、患病等等,希望透過這些故事,引起吸煙人士的共鳴,感染他們儘早戒煙。」

單立文更為是次活動創作了全新的戒煙歌曲「戒煙.世界返晒嚟」,一手包辦曲詞編唱,並找來早前成功戒煙的著名音樂人雷頌德作監製,讓觀眾瑯瑯上口,為戒煙者打氣,同時宣揚戒煙的好處。有關戒煙故事及戒煙歌曲的短片,可瀏覽網頁www.smokefree.hk/quitters。藝人唐詩詠、羅孝勇、周志文及吳業坤亦於活動上以遊戲形式拆解吸煙人士拒絶戒煙的常見藉口,傳揚無煙信息。

圖片說明:
主禮嘉賓(後排左4起) 委員會副主席伍婉婷MH、香港大學公共衞生學院社會醫學講座教授暨羅旭龢基金教授(公共衞生學)林大慶教授BBS太平紳士、食物及衞生局副局長陳肇始教授太平紳士、香港吸煙與健康委員會主席鄺祖盛MH、衞生署助理署長(特別衞生事務)蔡美儀醫生太平紳士及一眾嘉賓主持「藉口‧實戒得甩」短片首播儀式,為戒煙人士打氣。
主禮嘉賓(後排左4起) 委員會副主席伍婉婷MH、香港大學公共衞生學院社會醫學講座教授暨羅旭龢基金教授(公共衞生學)林大慶教授BBS太平紳士、食物及衞生局副局長陳肇始教授太平紳士、香港吸煙與健康委員會主席鄺祖盛MH、衞生署助理署長(特別衞生事務)蔡美儀醫生太平紳士及一眾嘉賓主持「藉口‧實戒得甩」短片首播儀式,為戒煙人士打氣。

五位成功戒煙人士(左起) 黃龍德、單立文、李興廉、夢特嬌‧全、鄧永明分享戒煙經歷,感染吸煙人士儘早戒煙。
五位成功戒煙人士(左起) 黃龍德、單立文、李興廉、夢特嬌‧全、鄧永明分享戒煙經歷,感染吸煙人士儘早戒煙。

香港吸煙與健康委員會感謝18區區議會及地區組織對第五屆「戒煙大贏家」無煙社區計劃的支持。
香港吸煙與健康委員會感謝18區區議會及地區組織對第五屆「戒煙大贏家」無煙社區計劃的支持。

*「藉口‧實戒得甩」成功戒煙故事簡介:

藝人單立文
單立文(豹哥)從十七歲開始吸煙,煙齡達三十年,他一直知道吸煙的禍害,但總給自己不同的藉口繼續吸煙,例如提神、增加創作靈感等等。直至九年前,在47歲生日時,豹哥立下決心戒煙,將「健康」送給自己作為最好的生日禮物。豹哥認為沒有煙仔,對交際應酬、識朋友一點也沒有影響。

喉癌康復者韓文貴
韓文貴於十三歲開始吸煙,因為在夜總會工作,所有同事均為吸煙者,高峰期一日食4至5包煙。1989年聲音沙啞,甚至失聲,其後確診為喉癌,做手術前完全戒掉煙癮。戒煙後人放鬆了也精神了,亦不斷勸身邊人戒煙。韓先生現為香港新聲會外務副會長,積極協助喉癌康復者重建生活,並擔任義工到處宣揚無煙信息。

動畫師夢特嬌.全
中三時,她初嘗第一口煙,自始成為吸煙者,2005年 (當時為22歲) 證實患上三期鼻咽癌。在治療期間,她見盡人生苦樂,康復後以自己的畫集,說出對人間的情感。她希望用圖畫來安慰所有曾經患病的人,尤其是一班也曾受煙草所傷害的人。作為鼻咽癌康復者,現聞到煙味會流鼻血。

會計師黃龍德
十五歲時在朋友的誘使下因貪玩而開始吸煙,每日吸3包煙。他身上的煙味,導致孩子不願意親近他,讓他流失了許多美好的親子時光。於1995年他終於下定決心戒煙,給孩子一份禮物,最終贏回了歡樂的健康家庭生活。戒煙後,他的健康大有改善,易喘的老毛病不見了,他更身體力行勸人戒煙,成立「清新健康人協會」。
回到最上