Top Menu

Press Release

COSH response to the tobacco control policies proposed by The Budget
2015.02.25

Hong Kong Council on Smoking and Health (COSH) expressed disappointment for the decision of the Financial Secretary in The 2015-16 Budget that the tobacco tax will not be raised.
 

Raising tobacco tax has been proved by World Health Organization and a number of global cases as one of the most effective tobacco control measures. In Hong Kong, calls received by the Integrated Smoking Cessation Hotline of the Department of Health increased drastically after substantial increase in tobacco tax in the past. It was a solid evidence of the effectiveness of tobacco tax on motivating smoking cessation.
 

According to Dr Hana ROSS, a world-renowned scholar on the economics of tobacco control, the real price of cigarette in Hong Kong from 1989 to 2013 increased by only 25% after deducting inflation. Hong Kong smokers’ affordability on tobacco products is higher than the neighbour countries and other developed regions. COSH, together with the medical institutions, tobacco control organizations and academia, has sent an open letter to the Financial Secretary to call for raising tobacco tax by 100%, so as to prevent children and youth from starting to smoke and encourage smokers to quit.
 

Mr Antonio KWONG, COSH Chairman reiterated, “Hong Kong tobacco tax was frozen most of the time in the past decades and the price effect on reducing tobacco consumption has been diminished. A relatively large increment of tobacco tax in 2009 and 2011 generated immediate and significant impact on encouraging smoking cessation. The mild increase of 11.8% last year, though below the inflation, also motivated some smokers to quit.” Raising tobacco tax is a key measure to lower the smoking prevalence and safeguard the public health for countries even with high tobacco tax rate. For instance, Australia and New Zealand have adopted an annual tobacco tax increase by a fixed rate at 12.5% from 2013-2016 and 10% from 2014-2016 respectively. In order to further reduce the smoking prevalence in Hong Kong, it is necessary to implement a strong and long-term tobacco tax policy and multi-pronged tobacco control measures, such as strengthening smoking cessation services and banning all forms of tobacco advertisements and display of tobacco products.
 

The tobacco industry and its supporting organizations always express strong opposition against tobacco tax increase under the pretext that it will lead to a surge in illicit cigarette smuggling. They exaggerated the situation of smuggling and misled the public with survey findings sponsored by the tobacco industry. COSH commissioned the School of Public Health of The University of Hong Kong to make an objective estimation in a scientific way and projected that the consumption of illicit cigarettes in Hong Kong in 2012 ranged from around 8.2% to 15.4% of total consumption, which was far lower than the one-third claimed by the tobacco industry. Hong Kong Customs & Excise Department stated that there was no sign of the deterioration of illicit cigarette market as a result of the increase in tobacco tax. COSH reaffirms that there is no causal link between tobacco tax increase and illicit cigarette smuggling. Opposing tobacco tax to prevent smuggling is skewed and inappropriate. The most effective measure to combat illegal trade of tobacco products is strict enforcement.
 

Smoking and secondhand smoke are responsible for around 7,000 deaths and more than HK$5.3 billion economic loss annually in Hong Kong. COSH urges the Government to strengthen the multi-pronged tobacco control measures, include increasing resources on smoking cessation services, education, publicity and enforcement against illicit cigarettes. The Government should also introduce a strong and effective policy of tobacco tax and other areas of tobacco control in order to safeguard the public health, reduce the smoking prevalence of Hong Kong to single digit and achieve a smoke-free Hong Kong as soon as possible.
 

Back to Top

新聞稿

委員會回應財政預算案的控煙措施
2015.02.25

香港吸煙與健康委員會(委員會)對財政司司長於2015至16年財政預算案中,未能增加煙草稅的決定表示失望。
 

增加煙草稅是最有效推動戒煙的控煙措施之一,世界衞生組織及不少國際例子已證實其效用。衞生署綜合戒煙熱線的數字亦反映,香港過往大幅調高煙草稅後,亦促進了吸煙人士的戒煙意欲,成效不容置疑。
 

根據煙草控制經濟學著名學者羅夏麗博士分析,香港的捲煙價格自1989至2013年期間,在扣取通脹後的實際升幅只有25%,香港吸煙人士的煙草產品可負擔能力 (即購買煙草產品能力) 遠高於鄰近及其他已發展地區。因此委員會早前聯同多個醫護團體、控煙組織及學者致函財政司司長要求增加煙草稅100%,以有效推動更多吸煙人士戒煙,同時防止青少年開始吸煙。
 

委員會主席鄺祖盛表示,「香港過往大部分時間凍結煙草稅,未能充份發揮以價格減低煙草需求的作用。2009年及2011年稍為大幅調高煙草稅後,成效立竿見影;而去年煙草稅提高僅11.8%,雖未能追上物價升幅,但仍見一定效力。」現時高煙稅的國家亦以增加煙草稅為減少吸煙和保障市民健康的方法,如澳洲規定2013年至2016年連續每年增加煙草稅12.5%,紐西蘭亦於2014至2016年期間每年增加煙草稅10%,可見煙草稅的成效和重要。香港如要進一步降低吸煙率,必須採取有力和長遠的煙草稅政策,並同時實施多管齊下的控煙策略,如提升戒煙服務和禁止所有形式的煙草廣告和宣傳包括陳列煙包等。
 

煙草業界及相關團體一直以增加煙草稅會助長走私煙草活動為藉口反對,並引用由煙草商贊助的研究數據誇大香港走私煙草情況,企圖混淆公眾視聽。對此委員會早前聯同香港大學公共衞生學院進行研究,以不同官方機構的數據客觀地推斷2012年香港私煙佔捲煙整體消耗量約8.2%至15.4%,遠低於煙草業界聲稱的三分之一。香港海關亦指出沒有跡象顯示增加煙稅令私煙市場惡化。委員會重申增加煙草稅和走私煙貿易並沒有必然關係,反對和扼殺增加煙草稅以避免走私煙問題實為偏頗和不恰當,有效解決走私煙問題應為加強執法。
 

香港每年有近7,000人因吸煙及二手煙而死亡,經濟損失逾53億港元。委員會將繼續促請政府以多管齊下的方式推動控煙工作,包括增撥資源拓展戒煙服務、加強教育、宣傳,嚴厲執法及打擊私煙,更必須配合強而有力的煙稅政策,大幅增加煙草稅,同時加強各項控煙措施,落實保障公眾健康的決心,儘快使香港吸煙率持續下降至單位數字,實現無煙香港的目標。

 

 

回到最上