Top Menu

Press Release

“Quit to Win” Smoke-free Community Campaign promotes smoking cessation and a smoke-free Hong Kong
2014.03.31
Following the success of the “Quit to Win” Smoke-free Community Campaign in 2009, 2010 and 2012 which recruited over 3,000 smokers to quit smoking, Hong Kong Council on Smoking and Health (COSH) organized The 4th “Quit to Win” Smoke-free Community Campaign, with the continuous support of the 18 District Councils and district organizations. COSH organized over 50 recruitment sessions and promotions across the territory from June to September 2013 and attracted over 1,200 smokers to sign up. Participants received free smoking cessation counseling and follow up for a smoke-free life. Successful quitters are eligible to join the lucky draw or TV show to win fabulous prizes.

COSH produced a television programme with Television Broadcasts Limited (TVB) to promote the benefits of quitting smoking and smash the excuses of smoking through a drama called “10 Quitting Warriors”. The winners of “Quit to Win” smoking cessation contest were invited to share their successful quit stories. The Champion Mr CHAN Kwok-cheung, a smoker for over two decades, said that he quitted smoking because his friend who gave him the first cigarette was suffering from a disease caused by smoking. Also, he always had to return to double check the outdoor spots at the warehouse where he had discarded the cigarette butts as he was worried that a burning butt might set the place ablaze. This became so bothersome. With the encouragement of his wife and the smoking cessation councellor, Mr Chan finally kicked the habit and became more peaceful.

The first runner-up Mr CHAN Chi-man spent 37 years as a smoker. Mr Chan’s decision to kick the smoking habit attributed to the increasing promotion on smoking hazards and expansion of statutory no smoking areas which made smoking inconvenient and less welcome by the public. The second runner-up Mr LUI Kam-nin lighted up his first cigarette due to peer influence. For the sake of his wife and daughter, he determined to quit smoking. Mr Lui resisted the temptation with the thought of his daughter’s expectation. He feels much better physically after kicking the bad habit, especially with his respiratory system.

The television programme was officiated by Dr KO Wing-man, BBS, JP (Secretary for Food and Health), Prof Sophia CHAN, JP (Under Secretary for Food and Health), Dr Constance CHAN, JP (Director of Health), Prof LAM Tai-hing, BBS, JP (Chair Professor of Community Medicine & Sir Robert Kotewall Professor in Public Health, School of Public Health, The University of Hong Kong), Ms Lisa LAU, BBS, MH, JP (COSH Chairman) and Mr Antonio KWONG (COSH Vice-chairman). The guests called on the public to strive for a smoke-free Hong Kong and encourage smokers to quit smoking to protect their family members from the adverse effects of smoking, secondhand smoke and third-hand smoke.

Dr KO Wing-man thanked to the concerted efforts of different sectors of the community on tobacco control. Smoking prevalence in Hong Kong has gradually dropped from 23 percent in the 1980s to a record low of 10.7 percent currently.

Dr Constance CHAN introduced the work of Department of Health on tobacco control. In addition to law enforcement, the Department of Health has collaborated with different NGOs to roll out a variety of free smoking cessation services to help smokers kick the habit, including the quitline 1833 183.

Prof LAM Tai-hing remarked that there are nearly 7,000 thousands people died of smoking and secondhand smoke annually in Hong Kong. Researches already showed that one out of two smokers will die earlier from tobacco-related diseases. He urged the family members and friends of smokers to encourage their beloved to quit smoking as soon as possible.

Ms Lisa LAU highlighted the ‘multiple wins’ achieved through smoking cessation. “You can improve your health, safeguard your family and friends from the harms of secondhand and third-hand smoke, as well as make savings. Smokers can demonstrate your resolve by writing down the reasons for quitting and setting a deadline. With love, care and will power, you will be the winners.”

Prof Sophia CHAN, Prof LAM Tai-hing, Ms Lisa LAU and Mr Antonio KWONG also introduced the smoking hazards to the audience and bolster up smokers’ determination to cease smoking.

“Quit to Win” Smoke-free Community Campaign will be held again in 2014. Officiating guests, representatives from 18 District Councils, district organizations, COSH Council members, winners of the 4th “Quit to Win” smoking cessation contest, Smoke-free Ambassador Mr Kenneth MA and artists jointly made an appeal to the public to support the 5th “Quit to Win” Smoke-free Community Campaign. Recruitment will start in coming June. Stay tuned to www.quittowin.hk .

The programme was officiated by (from left) Prof LAM Tai-hing, BBS, JP (Chair Professor of Community Medicine & Sir Robert Kotewall Professor in Public Health, School of Public Health, The University of Hong Kong), Dr Constance CHAN, JP (Director of Health), Ms Lisa LAU, BBS, MH, JP (COSH Chairman), Dr KO Wing-man, BBS, JP (Secretary for Food and Health), Prof Sophia CHAN, JP (Under Secretary for Food and Health) and Mr Antonio KWONG (COSH Vice-chairman) to bolster up smokers’ determination to kick the bad habit.
The programme was officiated by (from left) Prof LAM Tai-hing, BBS, JP (Chair Professor of Community Medicine & Sir Robert Kotewall Professor in Public Health, School of Public Health, The University of Hong Kong), Dr Constance CHAN, JP (Director of Health), Ms Lisa LAU, BBS, MH, JP (COSH Chairman), Dr KO Wing-man, BBS, JP (Secretary for Food and Health), Prof Sophia CHAN, JP (Under Secretary for Food and Health) and Mr Antonio KWONG (COSH Vice-chairman) to bolster up smokers’ determination to kick the bad habit.

Dr KO Wing-man, BBS, JP (Secretary for Food and Health) and Ms Lisa LAU, BBS, MH, JP (COSH Chairman), presented the award to Mr CHAN Kwok-cheung, the champion of “Quit to Win” smoking cessation contest.
Dr KO Wing-man, BBS, JP (Secretary for Food and Health) and Ms Lisa LAU, BBS, MH, JP (COSH Chairman), presented the award to Mr CHAN Kwok-cheung, the champion of “Quit to Win” smoking cessation contest.

(6th from right on front row) Prof Sophia CHAN, JP (Under Secretary for Food and Health) and (7th from right on front row) Ms Lisa LAU, BBS, MH, JP (COSH Chairman) thanked the support of the 18 District Councils and district organizations to “Quit to Win” Smoke-free Community Campaign.
(6th from right on front row) Prof Sophia CHAN, JP (Under Secretary for Food and Health) and (7th from right on front row) Ms Lisa LAU, BBS, MH, JP (COSH Chairman) thanked the support of the 18 District Councils and district organizations to “Quit to Win” Smoke-free Community Campaign.


Back to Top

新聞稿

下定決心戒煙 齊做「戒煙大贏家」
2014.03.31
香港吸煙與健康委員會(委員會)繼2009、2010及2012年舉辦「戒煙大贏家」比賽,成功鼓勵超過3,000名市民戒煙後,去年委員會再度獲得全港18區區議會全力支持,推出第四屆「戒煙大贏家」無煙社區計劃,透過各區區議會、轄下工作小組及地區組織將無煙信息深入全港各區。委員會於去年6月至9月期間展開招募,與各地區組織合作在18區舉辦了逾50場招募及宣傳活動,成功吸引超過1,200名吸煙人士下定決心戒煙,接受戒煙輔導及跟進,重投無煙健康生活,成功戒煙者更可角逐「戒煙大贏家」殊榮,贏取豐富獎金獎品。

委員會早前更聯同電視廣播有限公司製作「戒煙大贏家」電視節目,以「十個戒煙的戰士」的故事宣揚戒煙的好處及擊破吸煙人士各種繼續吸煙的藉口,同時邀請「戒煙大贏家」比賽的得獎者分享成功戒煙的心得。冠軍得主陳國祥有逾20年煙齡,第一口煙為朋友所贈,多年後與該朋友再會面,發現對方因吸煙患病,令他萌生戒煙的念頭。同時每次在室外工作場所吸煙後,都因擔心未撲熄煙頭而折返場所檢查,感到十分麻煩。得到太太及戒煙輔導員鼓勵的陳先生終於成功戒煙,戒煙後感到心境平和。

亞軍得主陳志文已有37年煙齡,由於有關煙害的宣傳和法定禁煙範圍日漸增多,有感吸煙越來越不方便及不被社會接受,故決定戒煙。季軍得主雷錦年十多歲時在同事的引誘下開始吸煙,為了女兒和太太,雷先生下定決心戒煙,每當煙癮起的時候,想起女兒對他的期望,就能忍受煙癮。成功戒煙後,他感到身體機能有明顯的好轉,氣管比以前舒適。

節目的主禮嘉賓包括食物及衞生局局長高永文醫生BBS太平紳士、食物及衞生局副局長陳肇始教授太平紳士、衞生署署長陳漢儀醫生太平紳士、香港大學公共衞生學院社會醫學講座教授暨羅旭龢基金教授(公共衞生學)林大慶教授BBS太平紳士、香港吸煙與健康委員會主席劉文文BBS, MH太平紳士及副主席鄺祖盛。他們向觀眾作出呼籲,希望與市民攜手共建無煙香港,鼓勵吸煙人士戒煙,保護家人免受吸煙、二手煙和三手煙的禍害,讓下一代建立健康的生活態度。

高永文局長表示,「在社會各界的努力下,香港的吸煙人口由80年代超過百分之 23逐步下降到近年的百分之10.7,為歷史新低。為了自己的健康及愛錫你的家人,今日就開始戒煙!」

陳漢儀署長亦介紹衞生署的控煙工作,「衞生署一直致力推行控煙工作。除了執法以減低二手煙對市民大眾的影響,我們亦與非政府機構開展了多元化的免費戒煙服務。為健康,為家人,請立即行動,致電衞生署綜合戒煙熱線1833 183!」

林大慶教授亦指出,「每年在香港就有近7,000人因為吸煙及二手煙而死。研究亦證實每兩個吸煙人士中,便有一個因吸煙而提早死亡,損失壽命十幾廿年。請大家盡快鼓勵及幫助你的親人、朋友戒煙!」

委員會主席劉文文則指出戒煙的好處,「戒煙的好處非常多,包括改善自身健康、保護家人朋友免受二手煙及三手煙影響,還可以慳錢。今日就訂下你的戒煙計劃,做個戒煙大贏家!」

陳肇始教授、林大慶教授、劉文文主席及鄺祖盛副主席同時亦向觀眾及藝員講解吸煙的禍害,鼓勵更多人士加入戒煙行列。

「戒煙大贏家」比賽將於今年再度舉辦,各主禮嘉賓、18區區議會及地區組織代表、委員會委員、第四屆「戒煙大贏家」得獎者、「無煙大使」馬國明更連同一眾藝人以「戒煙大贏家 我哋齊齊撐」作為口號,展望今年活動取得成功,每一位市民都可成為「戒煙戰士」,鼓勵及支持更多吸煙人士成功戒煙。比賽將於6月開始進行招募,有興趣的市民可密切留意委員會的最新公佈,詳情可參閱網址www.quittowin.hk。

相片說明:

主禮嘉賓(左起) 香港大學公共衞生學院社會醫學講座教授暨羅旭龢基金教授(公共衞生學)林大慶教授BBS太平紳士、衞生署署長陳漢儀醫生太平紳士、香港吸煙與健康委員會主席劉文文BBS, MH太平紳士、食物及衞生局局長高永文醫生BBS太平紳士、食物及衞生局副局長陳肇始教授太平紳士及委員會副主席鄺祖盛主持「戒煙大贏家」電視節目啟動儀式,為戒煙人士注入能量。
主禮嘉賓(左起) 香港大學公共衞生學院社會醫學講座教授暨羅旭龢基金教授(公共衞生學)林大慶教授BBS太平紳士、衞生署署長陳漢儀醫生太平紳士、香港吸煙與健康委員會主席劉文文BBS, MH太平紳士、食物及衞生局局長高永文醫生BBS太平紳士、食物及衞生局副局長陳肇始教授太平紳士及委員會副主席鄺祖盛主持「戒煙大贏家」電視節目啟動儀式,為戒煙人士注入能量。

食物及衞生局局長高永文醫生BBS太平紳士及香港吸煙與健康委員會主席劉文文BBS, MH太平紳士頒發獎座予「戒煙大贏家」比賽冠軍陳國祥。
食物及衞生局局長高永文醫生BBS太平紳士及香港吸煙與健康委員會主席劉文文BBS, MH太平紳士頒發獎座予「戒煙大贏家」比賽冠軍陳國祥。

食物及衞生局副局長陳肇始教授太平紳士(前排右6)及香港吸煙與健康委員會主席劉文文BBS, MH太平紳士(前排左7)感謝18區區議會及地區組織對「戒煙大贏家」的支持。
食物及衞生局副局長陳肇始教授太平紳士(前排右6)及香港吸煙與健康委員會主席劉文文BBS, MH太平紳士(前排左7)感謝18區區議會及地區組織對「戒煙大贏家」的支持。

回到最上