Top Menu

Press Release

Smoking Cessation Pledge Ceremony Encourage elderly to live a smoke-free lifestyle
2013.10.22
Hong Kong Council on Smoking and Health (COSH) is committed to promote smoke-free lifestyle and partner with the community to construct smoke-free Hong Kong. In order to raise the awareness of elderly on tobacco control, COSH has organized Smoke-free Campaign for the Elderly in 2012. The campaign aimed to informing the elderly on the smoking hazards, clarifying misconception on smoking and quitting and encouraging the smoking elderly to quit to live a healthy lifestyle. Since 2012, COSH have visited over 50 elderly centres and shared smoke-free messages with over 2,000 elderly.

This year, COSH co-produces a series of radio segment “Smoke-free Campaign for the Elderly” with Radio 5 of Radio Television Hong Kong (RTHK). By expert interviews and game quizzes, audience is able to understand the adverse effects of active and passive smoking, the latest tobacco control policies and smoking cessation services in Hong Kong. The Smoking Cessation Pledge Ceremony is held today to invite the smoking elderly to pledge to quit and show their determination to their family members and friends.

The officiating guests include Prof Sophia CHAN Siu-chee, JP (Under Secretary for Food and Health Bureau), Dr Christine WONG Wang (Head of Tobacco Control Office, Department of Health), Ms Lisa LAU, BBS, MH, JP (COSH Chairman), Mr Antonio KWONG (COSH Vice-chairman), Mr David HO (Head of Radio 5 of RTHK) and Ms Annie LIU (Health Ambassador of Smoking Cessation Pledge Ceremony).

The Under Secretary for Food and Health, Professor Sophia CHAN Siu-chee said that the Government has adopted a multi-pronged approach to promote tobacco control and provided a wide-spectrum of smoking cessation services to the public. With effort of Department of Health, Hospital Authority, various non-governmental organizations and charities, the public are able to choose different kinds of smoking cessation assistance. Meanwhile, the Integrated Smoking Cessation Hotline 1833-183 offers a convenient way for the quitters to obtain a variety of assistance. The Smoke-free Campaign for the Elderly helped to raise the awareness of elderly on tobacco control and Professor CHAN hoped more elderly smokers would quit smoking.

The champion of“Quit to Win”2012, Mr MAK Sun shared his quitting experience and showed his support to the quitters. Health Ambassador of the ceremony Ms. Annie LIU and other artists joined the ceremony and demonstrated how to persuade friends to quit smoking.

According to the latest Thematic Household Survey in 2011, 39.7% of daily cigarette smokers (around 65,000) were aged 50 or above. The research study conducted by School of Public Health and Department of Community Medicine of The University of Hong Kong in 2008 showed that current elderly smokers suffered a higher risk of death from all causes, cancer, cardiovascular diseases and respiratory diseases than the elderlies who never smoke.

Ms Lisa LAU, MH, BBS, JP, COSH Chairman reminded the elderly not to be misled by the common misconceptions of smoking cessation, “Health is one of the important keys to start a “second” fruitful life. It would never be too late to quit smoking and people of all ages should quit immediately.”

Photo Caption

Quitters pledged to quit and showed their determination to the officiating guests and their family members, starting a healthy and fruitful second half of life.
Quitters pledged to quit and showed their determination to the officiating guests and their family members, starting a healthy and fruitful second half of life.

The champion of “Quit to Win” of 2012, Mr MAK Sun and artists shared quitting experience and enjoyed a healthier life after the smoking cessation.
The champion of “Quit to Win” of 2012, Mr MAK Sun and artists shared quitting experience and enjoyed a healthier life after the smoking cessation.

Artists shared the advantages of quit smoking with audiences through games.
Artists shared the advantages of quit smoking with audiences through games.
Back to Top

新聞稿

「無煙下半場」戒煙誓師大會 鼓勵長者戒煙 開展健康人生
2013.10.22
香港吸煙與健康委員會(委員會)一直致力推廣無煙生活,與各界攜手締造無煙香港。委員會於2012年推出「無煙老友記」推廣計劃,向長者宣傳吸煙的禍害、澄清有關吸煙與戒煙的謬誤及鼓勵他們加入戒煙行列,重拾健康。自計劃舉辦至今,委員會已到訪超過50間老人中心,與超過2,000位長者分享無煙訊息。

今年,委員會與香港電台第五台聯合製作「無煙下半場」電台節目,透過專家訪談及遊戲等環節,進一步宣傳煙害之餘,亦增進長者對於戒煙服務的認識。為鼓勵吸煙長者戒煙,委員會於今日舉辦「無煙下半場」戒煙誓師大會,邀請有志戒煙的長者在親友及嘉賓的見證下宣誓戒煙,開展無煙健康生活。

活動的主禮嘉賓包括食物及衞生局副局長陳肇始教授,JP、衞生署控煙辦公室主管黃宏醫生、香港吸煙與健康委員會主席劉文文BBS,MH太平紳士、副主席鄺祖盛先生、香港電台第五台節目總監何重恩先生及戒煙誓師大會健康之星劉心悠小姐。

食物及衞生局副局長陳肇始教授表示政府一直以多管齊下的方式推動香港控煙工作,為協助戒煙人士戒除煙癮,政府提供多元化的戒煙服務,透過衞生署、醫院管理局及各個非政府與慈善機構向市民提供多元化的戒煙支援,配合衞生署的1833-183綜合戒煙熱線,為市民提供不同類型的戒煙服務。是次計劃能夠引起長者對於控煙工作的關注及鼓勵他們戒煙,推動更多長者朋友加入戒煙行列,開展「無煙下半場」,掌握健康人生。

大會亦邀請2012年「戒煙大贏家」冠軍得主 – 麥新先生出席分享戒煙心得及為一眾戒煙長者打氣。麥伯伯為了自己及孫兒的健康,憑藉自己的意志與家人的支持,成功戒除超過六十多年的煙癮。

活動的健康大使劉心悠小姐及一眾藝人出席支持,見證吸煙長者承諾戒煙,更向現場朋友示範如何勸喻身邊朋友戒煙。

根據最近期的主題性住戶統計調查 (2011),香港每日吸煙人口約65萬人,年滿50歲或以上的人士佔39.7%。香港大學李嘉誠醫學院公共衞生學院及社會醫學系於2008年有關長者吸煙、戒煙及死亡的調查發現吸煙長者的死亡、癌症、心血管疾病及呼吸疾病的死亡風險,都比不吸煙的長者為高。

委員會主席劉文文對是次參與宣誓戒煙的長者表示支持,並希望藉著計劃提醒各位長者朋友,不要被坊間有關戒煙的謬誤所誤導,她表示:「擁有健康的身體才可以好好經營人生的「下半場」,戒煙永遠都不會太遲,無論任何年齡的人士都應該即時戒煙。」

圖片說明

戒煙者在一眾嘉賓及親友的見證下宣誓戒煙,開展健康無煙的人生下半場。
戒煙者在一眾嘉賓及親友的見證下宣誓戒煙,開展健康無煙的人生下半場。

2012年度「戒煙大贏家」得主麥新伯伯與戒煙成功藝人分享戒煙心得及印證戒煙後重拾健康。
2012年度「戒煙大贏家」得主麥新伯伯與戒煙成功藝人分享戒煙心得及印證戒煙後重拾健康。

參與藝人透過遊戲與觀眾分享戒煙的好處。
參與藝人透過遊戲與觀眾分享戒煙的好處。
回到最上