Top Menu

Press Release

COSH honoured with WHO “World No Tobacco Day Award”
2013.05.31
Hong Kong Council on Smoking and Health (COSH) is awarded the World No Tobacco Day Award of World Health Organization (WHO) in recognition of its accomplishments and contribution to Hong Kong tobacco control works. Ms Lisa Lau, MH, JP, COSH Chairman expressed her gratitude for the recognition, “It is our honour to receive WHO’s recognition for COSH’s works in the past 25 years. COSH would like to thank the COSH Chairmen, vice-Chairmen, Council members and different sectors of the community for their endeavor on tobacco control. The result could not be achieved without the efforts of Government, healthcare and academic professionals, tobacco control supporting organizations and the general public. We are delighted to see the enhancement of public understanding and awareness on tobacco hazards. Smoking prevalence in Hong Kong has been declined to 11.1% and it is one of the cities with the lowest record. However, there are still enormous challenges ahead for tobacco control in Hong Kong. COSH will continue to spare no effort to unite the support from different sectors to strive for a smoke-free Hong Kong.”

WHO marks World No Tobacco Day on 31May every year to draw the public attention to tobacco hazards and promote a healthy lifestyle. To recognize individuals or organizations for their accomplishments in the area of tobacco control, WHO presents the “WHO Director-General Special Awards”, “WHO Director-General’s Special Recognition Certificate” and “World No Tobacco Day Awards” in each of the six regions (African Region, Region of Americas, Eastern Mediterranean Region, European Region, South-East Asia Region and Western Pacific Region) every year.

Other awardees from the Western Pacific Region are Phnom Penh Capital City, Cambodia; Dr Huang Jiefu, Chinese Association on Tobacco Control, China; Ministry of Health, Cook Islands; Dr Zarihah Binti Dato' Mohd. Zain, Lincoln University College, Malaysia; and President Benigno S. Aquino III and the Sin Tax Team, the Philippines.

Since its establishment in 1987, COSH has been dedicating to promote works on tobacco control with multi-pronged approach. COSH educates the public on smoking hazards and encourages smokers to kick the habit through various promotion and publicity activities, as well as researches. COSH has also provided proactive advice to the Government, health organizations and public body to strengthen tobacco control policy and legislation.

The theme of this year’s World No Tobacco Day is “Ban tobacco advertising, promotion and sponsorship”. COSH urges the Government to implement plain packaging, total ban on tobacco products display at points of sale and conduct comprehensive review on existing tobacco control policies to prohibit all kinds of tobacco promotion which can prevent youngsters from smoking and encourage smoking cessation.
Back to Top

新聞稿

香港吸煙與健康委員會獲世衞頒發「世界無煙日奬」
2013.05.31
香港吸煙與健康委員會 (委員會) 獲世界衞生組織 (世衞) 頒發「世界無煙日奬」,以表揚委員會在推動香港控煙工作的成就及貢獻。委員會主席劉文文MH太平紳士對於獲獎感到十分榮幸,「很高興委員會二十多年來的控煙工作獲世衞認同,感謝委員會歷屆主席、副主席、委員和社會各界的貢獻,這是政府、醫護界、學術界、控煙組織及市民大眾共同努力的成果。委員會欣見市民對煙草禍害的認識及關注與日俱增,而本港的吸煙率亦下降至11.1%,是全球最低的城市之一。但香港的控煙工作仍然面對無數挑戰,委員會將繼續與社會各界攜手合作,共建無煙香港。」

世衞將每年5月31日定為「世界無煙日」,旨在喚起公眾對煙草禍害的關注及推廣健康生活,每年亦會分別從其會員國的六個區域內 (非洲區域、美洲區域、東地中海區域、歐洲區域、東南亞區域及西太平洋區域) 選出在控煙工作方面有傑出表現的個人或團體,頒發「世衞總幹事特別獎」、「世衞總幹事特別嘉許證書」及「世界無煙日獎」,以肯定其在控煙工作方面的成就。

西太平洋區域的其他得奬者包括柬埔寨首都金邊、中國控制吸煙協會黃潔夫博士、庫克群島衞生部、馬來西亞林肯大學學院查麗哈紮因醫生,及菲律賓總統阿基諾三世與罪惡稅小組。

委員會於1987成立,在過往二十多年來一直多管齊下積極推動香港控煙工作,教育市民吸煙的禍害,透過不同的宣傳推廣活動及研究推動吸煙人士戒煙,同時向政府、社區衞生組織及服務團體提供意見,促進控煙政策及立法的進程。

今年「世界無煙日」的主題「禁止煙草廣告、促銷及贊助」。委員會倡議政府立法推行「全煙害警示包裝」及禁止銷售點陳列煙草產品,並檢討現行控煙法例,全面禁止煙草宣傳推廣,以避免青少年嘗試吸煙,並鼓勵更多吸煙人士戒煙。
回到最上