Top Menu

Press Release

Nursing Charter on Tobacco Control - Nurses commit to building a smoke-free Hong Kong
2013.05.04
Hong Kong Council on Smoking and Health (COSH), together with The Provisional Hong Kong Academy of Nursing (PHKAN), are going to launch the Nurses Initiatives on Tobacco Control in Hong Kong, in which nurses will be encouraged to promote smoke-free messages and smoking cessation on their frontline positions and daily interaction with patients and the general public. The initiatives are supported by the Food and Health Bureau, the Department of Health and The Hospital Authority.

Signing Ceremony of the Hong Kong’s first Nursing Charter on Tobacco Control is held today to show the commitment of nurses to building a smoke-free Hong Kong. Officiating guests include Dr KO Wing-man, BBS, JP, Secretary for Food and Health, Dr Constance CHAN, JP, Director of Health, Dr CHEUNG Wai-lun, JP, Director (Cluster Services) of Hospital Authority, Ms Lisa LAU, MH, JP, Chairman of COSH, Dr Susie LUM, President of PHKAN and Presidents of the 14 Colleges of PHKAN.

Under the Charter, nurses commit themselves to being role models of non-smokers; assess and arrange smokers to quit smoking; and give health advices on the harms of smoking to the public.

Ms Lisa LAU, Chairman of COSH remarks that The World Health Organization is encouraging healthcare professionals to be proactive in minimizing the problems caused by tobacco addiction, consumption and exposure to tobacco smoke. Nurses as healthcare professionals have a leading role in providing updated source of information on tobacco control to thousands of patients and public individuals that they are seeing every day. It is encouraging to know that interventions for smoking cessation led by nurses has increased the successful quit rate by up to 50%.

Dr Susie Lum, President of the PHKAN welcomes this Charter, which is a breakthrough in outreaching the community and partnering with COSH and other government and non-government organizations for a noble cause, that will benefit the health of the community. She believes that nurses are positioned to be beacon in tobacco control and be role models as non-smokers. Through working together, nurses can harness the knowledge and enthusiasm of the entire profession to promote healthy lifestyles, healthy workplaces, and healthy communities.

In order to gather support from nurses from all levels and in different health settings, COSH and PHKAN will be organizing a series of smoke-free programmes to motivate them to take a proactive role on tobacco control from June 2013 to February 2014, for example, nurses intervention to promote smoking cessation, health talks and video show. Training will be provided to equip nurses with the knowledge on smoking hazards and cessation. Also, nurses are encouraged to promote smoke-free messages to patients and the general public, as well as to advise patients to quit smoking.

Ms Lisa LAU, MH, JP, Chairman of COSH and Dr Susie LUM, President of PHKAN jointly signed the Nursing Charter on Tobacco Control
Ms Lisa LAU, MH, JP, Chairman of COSH and Dr Susie LUM, President of PHKAN jointly signed the Nursing Charter on Tobacco Control

The Signing Ceremony is officiated by  Dr KO Wing-man, BBS, JP, Secretary for Food and Health, Dr Constance CHAN, JP, Director of Health, Dr CHEUNG Wai-lun, JP, Director (Cluster Services) of Hospital Authority, Ms Lisa LAU, MH, JP, Chairman of COSH, Dr Susie LUM, President of PHKAN and Presidents of the 14 Colleges of PHKAN.
The Signing Ceremony is officiated by  Dr KO Wing-man, BBS, JP, Secretary for Food and Health, Dr Constance CHAN, JP, Director of Health, Dr CHEUNG Wai-lun, JP, Director (Cluster Services) of Hospital Authority, Ms Lisa LAU, MH, JP, Chairman of COSH, Dr Susie LUM, President of PHKAN and Presidents of the 14 Colleges of PHKAN.

Back to Top

新聞稿

簽署「護士控煙宣言」 護理界承諾共建無煙香港
2013.05.04
香港吸煙與健康委員會 (委員會),聯同臨時香港護理專科學院舉辦「護理界控煙行動」,推動護士在前線工作崗位上積極向病人及公眾推廣無煙信息,並鼓勵吸煙人士戒煙。行動獲食物及衞生局、衞生署及醫院管理局支持。

全港首個「護士控煙宣言」簽署儀式於今日舉行,盡顯護理界共建無煙香港的決心。主禮嘉賓包括食物及衞生局局長高永文醫生BBS太平紳士、衞生署署長陳漢儀醫生太平紳士、醫院管理局總監(聯網服務)張偉麟醫生太平紳士、香港吸煙與健康委員會主席劉文文MH太平紳士、臨時香港護理專科學院會長林崇綏博士及14個專科學院的院長。

在「護士控煙宣言」下,護士承諾以身作則成為非吸煙者的模範、評估及安排吸煙人士接受戒煙服務,並向公眾提供有關煙草禍害及健康的建議。

委員會主席劉文文指出,世界衞生組織鼓勵醫護界專業人士積極減少煙草成癮、使用煙草和接觸煙草煙霧所引起的問題。護士作為醫護界的一份子,每日接觸過千名病人及市民,應主動為他們提供最新的控煙資訊。研究顯示,由護士提供戒煙輔導可增加戒煙的成功率達50%。

臨時香港護理專科學院院長林崇綏博士對這份宣言表示歡迎,藉此與委員會、政府及非政府組織一同接觸社群,為公眾健康而努力。護士在控煙工作上可扮演先導角色,亦是非吸煙者的模範。透過與各界攜手合作,護士們可貢獻他們的專業知識及熱誠,為推動健康生活模式、健康工作間及健康社區出一分力。

為集結各專業領域護士的力量,由2013年6月至2014年2月,香港吸煙與健康委員會及臨時香港護理專科學院將會舉辦一連串的控煙活動,以推動護士積極參與控煙工作。活動包括由護士提供戒煙輔導、舉行健康講座及錄像播放等。此外,亦會為護士提供訓練,以提升他們對吸煙禍害的認識及戒煙輔導的技巧。此外,亦會建議護士在工作崗位上多主動向病人及公眾推廣無煙信息,並鼓勵吸煙人士戒煙。


在一眾主禮嘉賓見證下,香港吸煙與健康委員會主席劉文文MH太平紳士與臨時香港護理專科學院會長林崇綏博士共同簽署「護士控煙宣言」
香港吸煙與健康委員會主席劉文文MH太平紳士與臨時香港護理專科學院會長林崇綏博士共同簽署「護士控煙宣言」。

主禮嘉賓包括食物及衞生局局長高永文醫生BBS太平紳士、衞生署署長陳漢儀醫生太平紳士、醫院管理局總監(聯網服務)張偉麟醫生太平紳士、香港吸煙與健康委員會主席劉文文MH太平紳士、臨時香港護理專科學院會長林崇綏博士及14個專科學院的院長 ,見證「護士控煙宣言」簽署儀式。
主禮嘉賓包括食物及衞生局局長高永文醫生BBS太平紳士、衞生署署長陳漢儀醫生太平紳士、醫院管理局總監(聯網服務)張偉麟醫生太平紳士、香港吸煙與健康委員會主席劉文文MH太平紳士、臨時香港護理專科學院會長林崇綏博士及14個專科學院的院長 ,見證「護士控煙宣言」簽署儀式。

回到最上