Top Menu

Press Release

Support “Smoke-free Taxi” Campaign Enjoy a smoke-free journey
2012.12.12
Hong Kong Council on Smoking and Health (COSH) has been promoting a smoke-free lifestyle and working with different sectors of the society to strive for a smoke-free Hong Kong. This year, COSH launches a brand new campaign, “Smoke-free Taxi” with the full support from Road Co-op/ Commercial Radio. The campaign encourages taxi drivers and passengers to create a smoke-free journey by not to smoke in taxi at anytime. The kick-off ceremony is held today.

Officiating guests include Prof CHAN Siu-chee, Sophia, Under Secretary for Food & Health, Dr Constance CHAN Hon-yee, JP, Director of Health, Ms Carolina Yip, JP, Deputy Commissioner/ Transport Services and Management and Ms Lisa LAU Man-man, MH, JP, Chairman of COSH. Representatives from taxi associations also joined the ceremony to show their support.

COSH Chairman, Ms Lisa Lau would like to remind the public that smoking is prohibited in taxi at anytime through the campaign. According to Smoking (Public Health) Ordinance (Cap.371), “No person shall smoke or carry a lighted cigarette, cigar or pipe in a public transport carrier.” Fixed penalty of HK$1,500 will be applied for offender.

Taxi plays one of the key roles in Hong Kong public transport. There are now over 18,000 taxis in Hong Kong with daily patronage of 1 million on average. Both the drivers and passengers can enjoy a convenient, comfortable and efficient journey by supporting the Smoke-free Taxi Campaign.

The campaign also aims to encourage smoking taxi drivers to kick the habit. Smoking in taxi is hazardous to drivers and passengers. Thirdhand smoke, the chemical residual of tobacco smoke contamination that clings to clothing, seat belt, sofa in taxi, hair and skin, persists in the taxi for a long period of time which has harmful effects on health. The toxic residues cannot be removed even if the windows are opened. Thirdhand smoke not only brings stinky smell to the taxi, but also affects the business and service quality. Even the road safety will be endangered if taxi driver is suffered from cardiac diseases or eye diseases caused by smoking.

A series of promotion will be launched to raise the public awareness. With the support from taxi associations, many drivers have pledged for a “Smoke-free Taxi”. Participating drivers will show the “Smoke-free Taxi” license sticker and backseat sticker in their taxis for identification and promotion. Smoking drivers who decide to kick the habit will be referred to the Smoking Cessation Services of Tobacco Control Office. Public is also encouraged to visit “Smoke-free taxi” website through www.881903.com or the QR Code on backseat sticker to join the online games and win fabulous prizes.

During the ceremony, two former smokers also shared their experiences and tips on cessation. Both of them claimed that determination is critical to success. They also demonstrated how to deal with passenger and driver who smoke in taxi, together with artists Ms Kandy Wong and Mr Alfred Hui through role play and delivered smoke-free message.


圖片說明:

Officiating guests of Smoke-free Taxi Campaign Kick-off Ceremony include : (from left) artist Ms Kandy Wong, Ms Lisa LAU Man-man, MH, JP, Chairman of COSH, Dr Constance CHAN Hon-yee, JP, Director of Health, Prof CHAN Siu-chee, Sophia, Under Secretary for Food & Health, Ms Carolina Yip, JP, Deputy Commissioner/ Transport Services and Management, Ms Rita Chan, General Manager of Commercial Radio and artist Mr Alfred Hui.

Officiating guests of Smoke-free Taxi Campaign Kick-off Ceremony include : (from left) artist Ms Kandy Wong, Ms Lisa LAU Man-man, MH, JP, Chairman of COSH, Dr Constance CHAN Hon-yee, JP, Director of Health, Prof CHAN Siu-chee, Sophia, Under Secretary for Food & Health, Ms Carolina Yip, JP, Deputy Commissioner/ Transport Services and Management, Ms Rita Chan, General Manager of Commercial Radio and artist Mr Alfred Hui.


Representatives from taxi associations also joined the Smoke-free Taxi Kick-off ceremony to show their support.

Representatives from taxi associations also joined the Smoke-free Taxi Kick-off ceremony to show their support.


Participating drivers will show the “Smoke-free Taxi” stickers in the taxi for identification and promotion

Participating drivers will show the “Smoke-free Taxi” stickers in the taxi for identification and promotion.
Back to Top

新聞稿

「我是無煙的」於全港開動 司機乘客守法不吸煙 共享無煙旅程
2012.12.12
香港吸煙與健康委員會(委員會)一直致力推廣無煙生活,希望與各界攜手締造無煙香港。今年,委員會首次舉辦「我是無煙的」計劃,並得到「商業電台 馬路的事」全力支持,鼓勵司機及乘客時刻保持車廂空氣清新,一同打造舒適的無煙旅程。「我是無煙的」計劃啟動禮於今日舉行。

啟動禮的主禮嘉賓包括食物及衞生局副局長陳肇始教授、衞生署署長陳漢儀醫生太平紳士、運輸署副署長葉麗清女士太平紳士及香港吸煙與健康委員會主席劉文文MH太平紳士,各大的士團體代表亦出席支持。

委員會主席劉文文於啟動禮表示,希望藉著是次計劃提醒市民大眾,無論任何時候,的士上都不可以吸煙,鼓勵的士司機及乘客一同守法,保持車廂空氣清新。根據法例第371章《吸煙(公眾衞生)條例》:「任何人不得在公共交通工具內吸煙或攜帶燃着的香煙、雪茄或煙斗。」違者定額罰款港幣1,500元。

的士是香港主要交通工具之一,現時全港約有18,000輛的士,平均每日載客量約一百萬人。大家支持「我是無煙的」,可以讓司機及乘客享有方便、舒適及快捷的無煙旅程。

「我是無煙的」計劃除了旨在加深大眾對公共交通工具控煙法例的認識,同時亦希望推動司機戒煙,宣揚吸煙對司機、乘客及身邊人帶來的禍害。的士空間細小,「三手煙」(即吸煙後殘留於衣服、的士座位、安全帶,甚至頭髮和皮膚等的煙草殘餘化學物)會留在車廂內久久不散,就算打開車窗也都無法消除有毒物質,危害司機及乘客健康。另一方面,煙味亦會直接影響服務質素及生意。吸煙更會引致多種嚴重疾病,包括心血管疾病、眼疾等,令司機健康受損,隨時影響道路安全。

於啟動禮上,亦介紹了計劃的一連串宣傳活動。委員會得到各大的士團體的支持,鼓勵的士司機承諾絶不會違例吸煙,時刻保持車廂空氣清新,並於即日起在的士車廂貼上「我是無煙的」行車證靜電貼及座位貼紙,讓乘客及市民易於識認,同時將「我是無煙的」信息帶到全港各處。決心戒煙的的士司機更可以透過計劃獲轉介至衞生署控煙辦公室接受免費戒煙服務。而市民亦可以登入「我是無煙的」網站,認識更多煙害資訊及參加有獎遊戲。

此外,已成功戒煙的的士司機及的士聯會主席在啟動禮中分享其戒煙經驗與心得,指出戒煙的成功要素在於決心,更與藝人黃山怡(糖妹)及許鋌鏗透過角色扮演,討論遇上違法吸煙的司機及乘客時應該如何應對,宣揚「我是無煙的」信息。


圖片說明:

(左起)藝人糖妹、香港吸煙與健康委員會主席劉文文、衞生署署長陳漢儀、食物及衞生局副局長陳肇始、運輸署副署長葉麗清、商業電台總經理陳靜嫻及藝人許廷鏗一同出席「我是無煙的」計劃啟動禮。

(左起)藝人糖妹、香港吸煙與健康委員會主席劉文文、衞生署署長陳漢儀、食物及衞生局副局長陳肇始、運輸署副署長葉麗清、商業電台總經理陳靜嫻及藝人許廷鏗一同出席「我是無煙的」計劃啟動禮。


一眾的士團體代表出席「我是無煙的」計劃啟動禮以示支持。

一眾的士團體代表出席「我是無煙的」計劃啟動禮以示支持。


支持「我是無煙的」計劃的司機會於車廂貼上「我是無煙的」行車證靜電貼及後座貼紙,與乘客共創無煙旅程。

支持「我是無煙的」計劃的司機會於車廂貼上「我是無煙的」行車證靜電貼及後座貼紙,與乘客共創無煙旅程。
回到最上