Top Menu

Press Release

Support “Quit to Win” Smoke-free Community Campaign 2012 Launch Ceremony
2012.06.17
Hong Kong Council on Smoking and Health (COSH) has been dedicated to educate the public on the smoking hazards and encourage smokers to kick the habit since its establishment. This year, COSH, with the full support from the 18 District Councils, organizes a territory-wide “Quit to Win” Smoke-free Community Campaign 2012 to further promote smoke-free messages to the public and encourage more smokers to quit smoking. The kick-off ceremony is held today, on the Father’s Day.

Officiating guests include: Dr York CHOW Yat-ngok, GBS, JP, Secretary for Food and Health, Ms Lisa LAU, MH, JP (COSH Chairman), Prof LAM Tai-hing, JP (Director, School of Public Health, The University of Hong Kong), Dr Raymond HO (Head, Tobacco Control Office, Department of Health), Prof Sophia CHAN (COSH Vice-Chairman cum Professor in Nursing and Director of Research, School of Nursing, The University of Hong Kong) and “Smoke-free Ambassador” Mr Kenneth MA.

Smoking is hazardous to health. COSH supports smokers to quit smoking immediately and be a “winner”. Ms Lisa LAU, MH, JP (COSH Chairman) said, “First of all, you can win a healthy life after kicking the habit. Many medical researches undertaken around the world showed that one of every two smokers will be killed by smoking. Second-hand and third-hand smoke also influences the health of family and friends. The people you live with will be healthier if you quit smoking. Your image will also be improved as the burnt lampblack soaks on tooth and finger will be gradually removed. Saving will also be increased if you stop smoking. In Hong Kong, each smoker consumes an average of 13 cigarettes a day. You can save HK$1,000 per month and HK$12,000 per year if you kick the habit. Be a winner, quit smoking now.”

Dr York CHOW Yat-ngok, GBS, JP, Secretary for Food and Health said, “Today is Father’s Day. I believe that every father does not want their children to smoke nor being affected by second-hand smoke. Also, all children do not want their parents to be a smoker as their health will be damaged. On this special day, I invite all smokers to join the Quit to Win competition and quit smoking. Let’s start a healthy lifestyle and build a smoke-free Hong Kong.”

“Quit to Win” Smoke-free Community Campaign was organized in 2009 and 2010, successfully recruited over 2,000 participants with satisfactory quit rate. With the support of the 18 District Councils, a series of community-based promotion programmes will be held by sub-committees of District Councils and district organizations to recruit smokers to join the smoking cessation programme and kick the smoking habit, for a smoke-free and healthy life. Participants will receive cessation support and counselling services.

In addition to promoting smoking cessation, COSH also plays an active role on educating the youth on tobacco control. Education Theatre and health talks are held in schools every year and a series of Smoke-free Youth Ambassador training camps will be held this summer. To promote the smoke-free message to youngsters, COSH invites Grasper, a group of young dancers from HKFYG Hong Kong Youth Dance to have break dance performance during the kick-off ceremony.

“Quit to Win” Smoke-free Community Campaign 2012 kick-off ceremony is held on Father’s Day by Hong Kong Council on Smoking and Health. Officiating guests include: Dr York CHOW Yat-ngok, GBS, JP, Secretary for Food and Health, Ms Lisa LAU, MH, JP (COSH Chairman), Prof LAM Tai-hing, JP (Director, School of Public Health, The University of Hong Kong), Dr Raymond HO (Head, Tobacco Control Office, Department of Health), Prof Sophia CHAN (COSH Vice-Chairman cum Professor in Nursing and Director of Research, School of Nursing, The University of Hong Kong) and “Smoke-free Ambassador” Mr Kenneth MA.

“Quit to Win” Smoke-free Community Campaign 2012 kick-off ceremony is held on Father’s Day by Hong Kong Council on Smoking and Health. Officiating guests include: Dr York CHOW Yat-ngok, GBS, JP, Secretary for Food and Health, Ms Lisa LAU, MH, JP (COSH Chairman), Prof LAM Tai-hing, JP (Director, School of Public Health, The University of Hong Kong), Dr Raymond HO (Head, Tobacco Control Office, Department of Health), Prof Sophia CHAN (COSH Vice-Chairman cum Professor in Nursing and Director of Research, School of Nursing, The University of Hong Kong) and “Smoke-free Ambassador” Mr Kenneth MA.

With the support of the 18 District Councils, a series of community-based promotion programmes for “Quit to Win” Smoke-free Community Campaign will be held by sub-committees of District Councils and district organizations to recruit smokers to join the smoking cessation programme and kick the smoking habit, for a smoke-free and healthy life.

With the support of the 18 District Councils, a series of community-based promotion programmes for “Quit to Win” Smoke-free Community Campaign will be held by sub-committees of District Councils and district organizations to recruit smokers to join the smoking cessation programme and kick the smoking habit, for a smoke-free and healthy life.
Back to Top

新聞稿

「戒煙大贏家」無煙社區計劃2012 與十八區攜手共建無煙香港
2012.06.17
香港吸煙與健康委員會(委員會)自成立以來一直致力教育市民有關煙草的禍害及宣揚戒煙的好處。為了進一步將無煙訊息推廣至全港各區及鼓勵更多吸煙人士戒煙,委員會首度與十八區區議會合作,舉辦「戒煙大贏家」無煙社區計劃2012,並趁著今天父親節舉行啟動儀式。

主禮嘉賓包括食物及衞生局局長周一嶽GBS太平紳士、香港吸煙與健康委員會主席劉文文MH太平紳士、衞生署控煙辨公室主管何理明醫生、香港吸煙與健康委員會副主席暨香港大學護理學院護理教授及科研總監陳肇始教授、香港大學公共衛生學院院長林大慶教授太平紳士及「無煙大使」馬國明。

眾所周知,吸煙危害健康,委員會支持吸煙人士盡早戒煙,成為「大贏家」。香港吸煙與健康委員會主席劉文文MH太平紳士表示:「首先,戒煙可以贏回健康的人生。世界各地進行的多項醫學研究均顯示,每兩名吸煙人士當中,便有一人會因為吸煙而提早死亡。而二手煙、三手煙亦嚴重影響身邊家人及朋友的健康,戒煙的話,身邊的人亦會成為贏家。此外,戒煙後,牙齒及手指上的煙漬會逐步去除,提升形象。而在金錢上亦贏了,吸煙人士現時平均每日吸煙13支,如果戒煙的話,每月可以節省近1,000元,每年就可以節省12,000元。所以戒煙可以成為真正的『大贏家』。」

食物及衞生局局長周一嶽GBS太平紳士說:「適逢今天是父親節,我相信每個父親都絕不希望自己的子女吸煙,亦不願意看見我們的下一代受二手煙影響。同樣地,我深信所有子女都不希望自己的父母吸煙,影響身體健康。趁著這個特別的日子,我邀請所有吸煙人士參加『戒煙大贏家』比賽,決心戒除煙癮,重建健康的生活習慣,共建無煙香港。」

委員會分別於2009年及2010年舉辦「戒煙大贏家」比賽,已成功鼓勵超過2,000名市民戒煙,共同投入無煙健康生活。今年首度獲得全港十八區區議會全力支持,推出「戒煙大贏家」無煙社區計劃2012,透過各區區議會、轄下工作小組及地方組織進行一連串具地區特色的宣傳活動,招募吸煙人士參加戒煙計劃,接受社區支援及跟進服務,讓他們重投無煙健康生活。是次計劃獲得所有區議會支持,定能更有效地將無煙社區的信息深入全港各區,促使更多市民戒煙。

除了在地區進行戒煙宣傳工作外,委員會亦致力於控煙教育工作 - 例如每年於學校舉辦互動劇場、健康講座等。今年夏天將會舉辦「無煙青少年大使領袖訓練計劃」等。是次啟動儀式,委員會特別邀請一班非常健康有型的青少年(香港青年協會香港起舞Grasper)表演霹靂舞(Break Dance),以青少年身份呼籲其他青少年不要嘗試吸煙。



香港吸煙與健康委員會趁著父親節,舉辦「戒煙大贏家」無煙社區計劃2012啟動儀式,主禮嘉賓包括食物及衞生局局長周一嶽GBS太平紳士、香港吸煙與健康委員會主席劉文文MH太平紳士、衞生署控煙辨公室主管何理明醫生、香港吸煙與健康委員會副主席暨香港大學護理學院護理教授及科研總監陳肇始教授、香港大學公共衛生學院院長林大慶教授太平紳士及「無煙大使」馬國明。
香港吸煙與健康委員會趁著父親節,舉辦「戒煙大贏家」無煙社區計劃2012啟動儀式,主禮嘉賓包括食物及衞生局局長周一嶽GBS太平紳士、香港吸煙與健康委員會主席劉文文MH太平紳士、衞生署控煙辨公室主管何理明醫生、香港吸煙與健康委員會副主席暨香港大學護理學院護理教授及科研總監陳肇始教授、香港大學公共衛生學院院長林大慶教授太平紳士及「無煙大使」馬國明。


「戒煙大贏家」無煙社區計劃2012獲十八區區議會全力支持,透過各區區議會、轄下工作小組及地方組織進行一連串具地區特色的宣傳活動,招募吸煙人士參加戒煙計劃,讓他們重投無煙健康生活。
「戒煙大贏家」無煙社區計劃2012獲十八區區議會全力支持,透過各區區議會、轄下工作小組及地方組織進行一連串具地區特色的宣傳活動,招募吸煙人士參加戒煙計劃,讓他們重投無煙健康生活。

回到最上