Top Menu

Press Release

Tie the Green Ribbon to Show Your Support to Smoke-free HK
2011.03.20
Hong Kong Council on Smoking and Health (COSH), together with School of Public Health and School of Nursing of The University of Hong Kong coordinated the “Smoke-free Hong Kong Green Ribbon Action” to call for support from the general public for the 41.5% tobacco tax raise for the sake of the public health and establishment of a smoke-free environment.

The Government raised tobacco tax as a means of tobacco control for public health protection. “China has become a party to the “Framework Convention on Tobacco Control (FCTC)” of World Health Organization (WHO), and Hong Kong Government is responsible to raise the price of the tobacco products by raising tobacco tax to effectively reduce and prevent people from smoking” stated Ms Lisa LAU, Chairman of COSH.

Since the increase in tobacco tax in 2009, the percentage of smokers aged 15-29 remarkably reduced by 10%. It indicates that the raising of tobacco tax will encourage smoking cessation and reduce the desire of people to start smoking, especially for young people who are most sensitive to price. Besides, it also reduces the change of relapse among ex-smokers.

Tobacco causes death is an indisputable fact. Prof. Tai-Hing Lam, JP, Sir Robert Kotewall Professor in Public Health, Head of School of Public Health, The University of Hong Kong pointed out that studies suggest that “As one out of two smokers (50%) will be killed by smoking induced diseases, meaning that 380,000 of the current 760,000 smokers will die from smoking if they do not quit immediately. And about 7000 deaths are due to active and passive smoking each year. The tobacco tax raise is also the most effective way to protect the 88% Hong Kong people who are non-smokers against the harm from second-hand smoke.”

The Government and many medical associations have enhanced the smoking cessation services to help smokers to quit smoking. Prof. Sophia Chan, Head of School of Nursing, The University of Hong Kong mentioned that many critical illness could be avoided if one could quit smoking early. There are many experienced counselors on smoking cessation who are enthusiastic in helping smokers to quit smoking.

COSH has received positive support for tobacco tax raise from over 200 organizations from various sectors and nearly 30,000 students in Hong Kong since November 2010. On Green Ribbon Action day, 250 citizens tied a green ribbon onto the “Smoke-free Tree” to show their wills of establishing a smoke-free Hong Kong. COSH urges both the Legislative Council Members and the community join hands with us to support the tobacco tax raise.

List of supporting organizations

Event photos of the Green Ribbon Action:

Citizens tied the green ribbon on the “Smoke-free Tree” to show their wills of establishing a smoke-free Hong Kong:
Citizens tied the green ribbon on the “Smoke-free Tree” to show their wills of establishing a smoke-free Hong Kong

Citizens tied the green ribbon on the “Smoke-free Tree” to show their wills of establishing a smoke-free Hong Kong

Citizens tied the green ribbon on the “Smoke-free Tree” to show their wills of establishing a smoke-free Hong Kong

Citizens raised the “Tax-to-Quit” banners and signage for support:
Citizens raised the “Tax-to-Quit” banners and signage for support

Citizens raised the “Tax-to-Quit” banners and signage for support

Citizens raised the “Tax-to-Quit” banners and signage for support

Ms. Lisa LAU, Chairman of COSH, delivered the speech:
Ms. Lisa LAU, Chairman of COSH, delivered the speech

Prof. TH Lam, Head of School of Public Health of The University of Hong Kong, made the speech:
Prof. TH Lam, Head of School of Public Health of The University of Hong Kong, made the speech
Back to Top

新聞稿

以綠絲帶支持無煙香港
2011.03.20
香港吸煙與健康委員會(委員會)聯同香港大學公共衛生學院和護理學院發起「無煙香港‧綠絲帶行動」,呼籲全港市民同心支持政府落實增加煙草稅41.5%,以保障全港市民的健康和締造無煙綠色環境。

香港政府為了保障公眾健康,透過增加煙草稅推行控煙工作,委員會主席劉文文太平紳士MH表示:「中國已經成為世界衛生組織《煙草控制框架公約》的締約國,香港特區政府有責任提高煙草稅,令煙草產品價格上升,以減少及預防市民吸煙,從而保障市民的健康。」

自從09年增加煙草稅後,15至29歲吸煙人士的百分比顯著下降10%,由此可見增加煙稅除了可以鼓勵戒煙和減少吸煙、更可降低對煙草價格最為敏感的年青人開始吸煙的意欲,並可以減少已成功戒煙人士復吸。

煙草致命乃不爭之事實。香港大學公共衞生學院羅旭龢基金公共衛生學教授林大慶教授太平紳士指出:「研究顯示,吸煙者死於吸煙引致的疾病的風險高達50%。按目前全港吸煙人口76萬計算,當中近38萬人若不戒煙,將會因吸煙而提早死亡,每年香港有約7000人死於吸煙及二手煙。增加煙草稅亦能有效保障全港88%不吸煙市民免受二手煙毒害。」

香港政府和醫護團體亦已加強戒煙服務,幫助有需要的煙民戒煙,香港大學護理學院院長陳肇始教授說:「及早戒煙,可避免多種危疾。香港有很多有經驗的戒煙輔導員,他們都會非常熱心幫助吸煙人士戒煙。」

委員會自去年十一月起,徵集了社會各界逾200多個組織及三萬名中小學生支持香港政府增加煙草稅,以保障市民大眾之健康。是次綠絲帶行動,有250名市民於「無煙樹」繫上綠絲帶,表達了社會大眾對於無煙香港的訴求,委員會藉此呼籲立法會議員及社會各界支持增加煙稅

支持增加煙草稅的組織名單

綠絲帶行動活動照片:

市民於「無煙樹」繫上綠絲帶,以示支持無煙香港:
市民於「無煙樹」繫上綠絲帶,以示支持無煙香港

市民於「無煙樹」繫上綠絲帶,以示支持無煙香港

市民於「無煙樹」繫上綠絲帶,以示支持無煙香港

市民手持「加煙稅 助戒煙」橫額及標語:
市民手持「加煙稅 助戒煙」橫額及標語

市民手持「加煙稅 助戒煙」橫額及標語

市民手持「加煙稅 助戒煙」橫額及標語

香港吸煙與健康委員會主席劉文文女士代表發言
香港吸煙與健康委員會主席劉文文女士代表發言

香港大學公共衞生學院林大慶教授代表發言
香港大學公共衞生學院林大慶教授代表發言
回到最上