Top Menu

Press Release

HKU Study Reveals that the Smoke-free Legislation Motivates Youth Smokers to Quit
2008.02.22
A survey carried out by the University of Hong Kong Faculty of Medicine found that over 50% youth smokers reported an increase in their motivation to quit after the “Smoking (Public Health)(Amendment) Ordinance” came into force in most public indoor areas on January 2007, which reveals an increased demand for smoking cessation services among youth smokers in the community. In view of the inadequacy of smoking cessation services provided by the Government, a comprehensive measure including sufficient smoking cessation support and an increase in tobacco tax is needed to promote smoking cessation.
 
The survey compared the smoking behaviours and quitting intention of the youth smokers aged from 12 to 25, who called the HKU Youth Quitline (the first smoking cessation hotline tailor-made for youth smokers in Hong Kong) since it was launched in August 2005 to 31 December 2006, with the data obtained from 1 January to 30 September 2007 (pre-legislation and post-legislation period).

The results showed that there was an increase of 20% in telephone calls from smokers since the implementation of new smoke-free legislation. The average daily cigarette consumption among these youth smokers decreased from about 12 before the ban to around 10 after it took effect. In addition, 51.9% youth smokers interviewed reported an increase in their motivation to quit after smoking ban implementation, and 42.7% said they had less exposure to second-hand smoke.

The findings reflected that there is a sharp increasing demand for smoking cessation services among youth smokers from the Youth Quitline after the enactment of smoke-free legislation. Therefore, professional support in the community is needed to strengthen their self-efficacy to quit.

Professor LAM Tai-hing, Head of the Department of Community Medicine, HKU, said that the smoke-free legislation increased the motivation to quit among youth smokers. Unfortunately, the Government missed the opportunity of supporting smokers to quit. He urged the Government to increase resources in smoking cessation promotion and supporting services, as well as to raising tobacco tax in order to create favourable conditions for smokers to quit.

Dr Homer TSO, chairman of the Hong Kong Council on Smoking and Health, suggested the Government to establish a centralized quit line to facilitate smokers who want to quit. He further emphasized the importance of increasing tobacco tax as a sustainable policy. Recommended by the World Bank, the tobacco tax should be at least two-third of the retail cigarette price at high-income countries to deter people from smoking and lower the smoking prevalence.

Please visit the website at http://web3.hku.hk/facmed/hkumed/news_list.php for more information.
Back to Top

新聞稿

港大調查發現禁煙條例推動青少年吸煙者戒煙
2008.02.22
香港大學醫學院最近發表的一項調查發現,自2007年1月1日《吸煙(公眾衞生)(修訂)條例》生效,在大部分的室內公眾場所實施禁煙措施後,逾五成青少年吸煙者稱條例增加了他們戒煙的意欲,反映社會上青少年吸煙者對戒煙服務有迫切的需要,鑑於現時本港戒煙服務仍未能配合有關的需求,政府必須增加向成年人及青年人宣傳戒煙行動及戒煙服務的支援,並提高煙草稅以提高戒煙成效。
 
研究以香港大學推出的全港首個針對青少年而設的戒煙熱線輔導服務-「Youth Quit Line」為研究背景,對在禁煙條例生效前後致電青少年戒煙熱線的青少年吸煙者,調查他們的吸煙習慣及戒煙意向。是次研究對象介乎12至25歲,以2005年8月至2006年12月31日期間所收集到的資料,跟2007年1月1日至9月30日的資料作比較 (即禁煙條例實施前後)。

結果顯示,自新的禁煙條例生效後,致電青少年戒煙熱線的數量較條例生效前增加20%,青少年吸煙數量亦有所下降,由每日平均約12支減少至約10支。此外,更有51.9%的受訪者認為條例生效後提升他們的戒煙意欲,而42.7%認為新條例實施讓他們減少接觸二手煙。

由此可見,青少年戒煙熱線的參加者於條例生效後,對戒煙服務的需求有顯著的增長,社會需要更多專業人員為這些青少年吸煙者提供專業輔導服務,以協助他們戒煙。

香港大學醫學院社會醫學系系主任林大慶教授表示,條例生效增加了吸煙者戒煙的動力,但政府未能把握時機協助他們戒煙,因此他促請政府增加向成年人及青年人宣傳戒煙行動及戒煙服務的支援,並提高煙草稅,營造有利戒煙的條件。

香港吸煙與健康委員會主席左偉國醫生建議政府設立統一戒煙熱線,方便市民尋求戒煙支援服務;他亦進一步指出,政府應把增加煙草稅納入為持續的政策,並以世界銀行倡議高收入地區煙稅應佔捲煙零售價格最少三分之二為目標,才能有效減少吸煙人口。

詳細資料可參閱以下網頁:
http://web3.hku.hk/facmed/hkumed/news_list.php
回到最上