Top Menu

Publicity Project
Smoke-free Hong Kong Green Ribbon Action
Smoke-free Hong Kong Green Ribbon ActionGreen Ribbon

Online Support Online Voting


Objective:
To unite the effort from the public in supporting the raise of tobacco tax by 41.5% announced in the 2011/12 Budget, so as to protect the health of public, prevent youth smoking and encourage smoking cessation.

Reasons of Supporting Tobacco Tax Raise:
(1) For public health protection, the Government raised tobacco tax as a means of tobacco control
 
The latest figure shows that more than 690,000 residents aged 15 or above in Hong Kong had a daily smoking habit and the daily smoking prevalence was 12%. Tobacco is responsible for 7,000 deaths caused by smoking and secondhand smoke every year. Studies suggest that smoking mortality rates as high as 50%, meaning that 345,000 of the current 690,000 daily smokers will die from smoking if they do not quit immediately. It is also the most effective way to protect the health of 88% Hong Kong people who are non-smokers.
 
(2) The raising of tobacco tax is an effective means to encourage people to kick the habit.

According to the World Bank’s analysis, every 10% increase in the price of a pack of cigarette in high income regions and countries such as Hong Kong would result in a 4% decrease in tobacco consumption. From research and experience in tobacco control, raising tobacco tax to encourage smoking cessation has immediate effect.
After the tobacco tax raised by 50% in 2009; the calls to DH’s integrated smoking cessation hotline increased 4 times. According to the latest figure, more than 240 calls per day were received after the announcement of the Budget (23 and 24 February 2011), which is 6 times more compared to the same period last year. It has proved that the raise in tobacco tax will encourage smokers to quit.

(3) Raise tobacco tax to increase retail price of cigarette can effectively prevent children and youth from smoking.

Tobacco causes death is an indisputable fact. China has become a party to the “Framework Convention on Tobacco Control (FCTC)” of World Health Organization (WHO), and Hong Kong Government is responsible to raise the price of the tobacco products by raising tobacco tax to effectively reduce and prevent people from smoking. Article 6 of the FCTC states, price and tax measures are an effective means of reducing tobacco consumption, particularly to the youth. Since the increase in tobacco tax in 2009, the percentage of smokers aged 15-29 remarkably reduced by 10%. It indicates that the raising of tobacco tax will reduce the desire of people to start smoking, especially for young people who are most sensitive to price. Besides, ex-smokers will also be discouraged to relapse into smoking.

 
Raise Tobacco Tax for Smoking Cessation – United Effort Advocacy Campaign
Hong Kong Council on Smoking and Health organized the “Raise Tobacco Tax for Smoking Cessation – United Effort Advocacy Campaign" on 16 January 2011. We received positive support from over 200 organizations from different sectors including medical and health, education, academia, social welfare, women’s group, sports, arts, conservation, professional bodies and many other groups. All of them actively responded to support the proposal, which illustrated the strong wills of establishing smoke-free Hong Kong from the community.

Let’s join the “Smoke-free Hong Kong Green Ribbon Action”

Date : 20 March 2011 (Sunday)
Time : 11:30am to 1:00pm
Venue : Central Government Offices, Lower Albert Road, Central

For public health protection and to create a green smoke-free environment for the future, members of the public are invited to tie a green ribbon provided by the organizer onto the “Smoke-free Tree” to show their support for the 41.5% tobacco tax raise.



Enquiry Hotline: 2185-6388
Enquiry Email: project@cosh.org.hk
 
More on Green Ribbon Action
Raise Tobacco Tax for Smoking Cessation - United Effort Advocacy Campaign
Back to Top

「無煙香港 綠絲帶行動」活動詳情

「無煙香港 綠絲帶行動」活動詳情綠絲帶

網上支持『加煙稅 助戒煙』 網上投票


目的:
凝聚全港市民力量,支持2011-12年財政預算案增加煙草稅41.5%建議,以保障市民健康,預防青少年吸煙及鼓勵戒煙

支持加煙稅的理據:
(1) 香港政府為了保障公眾健康,透過增加煙草稅推行控煙工作
 
香港現時每日吸煙人口高達69萬,15歲以上吸煙率約為12%,香港每年因吸煙和二手煙引發的疾病致死的人數高達7,000人。研究指出,吸煙死亡率高達50%。按目前全港吸煙人口69萬計算,當中近35萬人若不立即戒煙,將會因吸煙而死亡。增加煙草稅亦能有效保障全港88%不吸煙市民的健康。
 
(2) 增加煙稅有效鼓勵吸煙者戒煙

根據世界銀行的分析,一包煙的價格每提高10%,高收入地區及國家如香港,煙草需求量隨之下降4%。從研究以至經驗來看,增加煙草稅對鼓勵戒煙有立竿見影的效果。
政府在2009年增加煙草稅50%後,衞生署綜合戒煙熱線求助電話增加四倍。2011年,財政預算案公布當天及翌日(即2月23及24日)的求助電話每日超過240個,是去年同期的6倍。由此可見,增加煙草稅有效即時促使吸煙人士戒煙。

(3) 以增加煙草稅提升價格有效預防兒童及青少年開始吸煙,保障下一代健康

煙草致命乃不爭之事實,中國已經成為世界衛生組織《煙草控制框架公約》的締約國,香港特區政府有責任提高煙草稅,令煙草產品價格上升,以收減少及預防市民吸煙之效,從而保障市民的健康。《煙草控制框架公約》第六條特別指出,各國政府應該以價格及稅收措施減少各階層人士對煙草需求,特別是兒童及青少年。自從09年增加煙草稅後,15至29歲吸煙者的百分比顯著下降10%可見,增加煙稅可降低對煙草價格最為敏感的年青人開始吸煙的意欲,並可以減少已成功戒煙人士復吸。

 
全民支持增加煙草稅
委員會於1月16日舉辦「『加煙稅,助戒煙』全民支持大行動」活動,得到社會各界逾200個組織及近三萬名中小學生支持政府增加煙草稅。支持組織包括醫療機構、醫護專業組織、中小學校、社會福利機構、婦女團體、病人互助組織、體育界、文化藝術、環境保護團體及來自各行各業的專業人士,可見社會大眾對於建設無煙香港的重大訴求。

參與「無煙香港 綠絲帶行動」:

日期:2011年3月20日(星期日)
時間:上午11時30分至下午1時
地點:香港中環下亞厘畢道中區政府合署

歡迎所有公眾人士參加,在「無煙樹」綁上大會提供的綠絲帶,同心支持政府落實增加煙草稅41.5%之政策,以保障全港市民的健康與締造無煙綠色環境。

支持加煙稅助戒煙的各界團體及組織名單

查詢電話︰2185-6388
查詢電郵︰project@cosh.org.hk
 
綠絲帶行動 ─ 活動連結
『加煙稅 助戒煙』─全民支持大行動 ─ 活動連結
回到最上