Top Menu

Press Release

"Quit to Win" Game Show Promotes a Smoke-free healthy lifestyle
2009.09.18
Hong Kong Council on Smoking and Health, together with The Department of Nursing Studies and the School of Public Health, The University of Hong Kong and Television Broadcasts Limited, co-organized a territory-wide "Quit to Win" Smoking Cessation publicity campaign which aimed at promoting the benefits of smoking cessation to individuals and the community. This campaign sought to mobilize smokers to quit smoking, and general public to support their family members and friends to quit smoking in order to enjoy a smoke-free healthy living lifestyle. The Council has recruited over 1,000 participating smokers from 23 venues across the territory. Four participants were selected to enter the television game show and competed to win the prizes in Cheung Kwan O TVB City.
 
The programme was officiated by Dr York CHOW, GBS, JP (Secretary for Food and Health), Dr PY LAM, JP (Director of Health), Ms Lisa LAU, MH, JP (COSH Chairman), Prof Tai-Hing LAM, JP (Sir Robert Kotewall Professor in Public Health, School of Public Health, The University of Hong Kong) and Prof Sophia CHAN (Professor in Nursing and Head, Department of Nursing Studies, The University of Hong Kong). The officiating guests put together the strokes of a Chinese character "Cessation" to symbolize that we could pull together to encourage more people to quit smoking. The guests also called on public support to smoke-free environment and protect their families from the adverse effects of smoking and second-hand smoke. After the ceremony, a child choir performed the theme song of COSH's new series of API "Quit Smoking" to bring out the message of "smoke-free new generation".
 
Dr York CHOW said, "I used to have smoking habit when I was young. But I decided to quit smoking as I no longer want to suffer from the harms of tobacco. As an ex-smoker, I know how hard smoking cessation could be. Nevertheless, if you are concerned with the health of yourself and your family, you must quit smoking today!" Dr PY LAM noted, "Second-hand smoke is harmful to the health of your family and friends. If you live in an environment with second-hand smoke for a long time, you will suffer from higher risk of respiratory diseases and cancers. The chance of children having asthma will also increase. If you care about the health of your family, you must quit smoking as soon as possible!"
 
Ms Lisa LAU pointed out that "Smoking can cause fatal diseases. It is the best to quit smoking as soon as possible! So, please quit smoking now and enjoy a new smoke-free healthy lifestyle!" In the programme, Prof Tai-Hing LAM and Prof Sophia CHAN encouraged more people to quit smoking by sharing some smoking cessation information, offering some tips to the audiences and answering the queries in related to smoking cessation. The 4 participants not only shared their feeling and process of smoking cessation, but also competed in the show through games, performances and testing so as to demonstrate the benefits to their lives after they'd quitted smoking. Their determination and knowledge to smoking hazards were fully shown by their outstanding performances.
 
 
After the audience voting, Mr. NG Wing-ki won the championship and become the "Quit Smoking Winner", while the first runner-up went to Mr. KWOK Wai-sin, and the second runner-up went to Mr. PANG Kin-chung. Although there is just a champion for the competition, but all the participants who successfully quit smoking are "Winners". They unanimously said that their main purpose of joining this competition was to quit smoking successfully, so that their health could be improved and their families could be protected from the harms of second-hand smoke. Mr. NG, the Champion, thanked for his family's support and believed that this competition reinforced his decision to quit smoking and stay away from the smoking hazards. He wished that more smokers are able to quit smoking and become "Quit Smoking Winner"!
 
Photos of this Game Show have been uploaded to our website at www.smokefree.hk for public viewing.
 
The game show was officiated by (from left) Ms Lisa LAU, MH, JP (COSH Chairman), Dr York CHOW, GBS, JP (Secretary for Food and Health), Dr PY LAM, JP (Director of Health), Prof Tai-Hing LAM, JP (Sir Robert Kotewall Professor in Public Health, School of Public Health, The University of Hong Kong) and Prof Sophia CHAN (Professor in Nursing and Head, Department of Nursing Studies, The University of Hong Kong).
Photo 1
The game show was officiated by (from left) Ms Lisa LAU, MH, JP (COSH Chairman), Dr York CHOW, GBS, JP (Secretary for Food and Health), Dr PY LAM, JP (Director of Health), Prof Tai-Hing LAM, JP (Sir Robert Kotewall Professor in Public Health, School of Public Health, The University of Hong Kong) and Prof Sophia CHAN (Professor in Nursing and Head, Department of Nursing Studies, The University of Hong Kong).
 
Prof Tai-Hing LAM, Sir Robert Kotewall Professor in Public Health, School of Public Health, The University of Hong Kong shared some smoking cessation information with the audiences, offered cessation tips and answered the queries in related to smoking cessation.
Photo 2
Prof Tai-Hing LAM, Sir Robert Kotewall Professor in Public Health, School of Public Health, The University of Hong Kong shared some smoking cessation information with the audiences, offered cessation tips and answered the queries in related to smoking cessation.
 
Ms Lisa LAU, MH, JP, COSH Chairman, presented the award to Mr. KWOK Wai-sin, the first runner-up of TVB "Quit to Win" Game Show.
Photo 3
Ms Lisa LAU, MH, JP, COSH Chairman, presented the award to Mr. KWOK Wai-sin, the first runner-up of TVB "Quit to Win" Game Show.
 
Dr Gloria TAM Lai-fan, JP, Director of Health, presented the trophy to Mr. NG Wing-ki, the champion of TVB "Quit to Win" Game Show and congratulated him to win the throne of "Quit Smoking Winner".
Photo 4
Dr Gloria TAM Lai-fan, JP, Director of Health, presented the trophy to Mr. NG Wing-ki, the champion of TVB "Quit to Win" Game Show and congratulated him to win the throne of "Quit Smoking Winner".
 
The guests took a group photo with the game show participants and congratulated them for quitting smoking successfully and all become "Quit Smoking Winners"!
Photo 5
The guests took a group photo with the game show participants and congratulated them for quitting smoking successfully and all become "Quit Smoking Winners"!
Back to Top

新聞稿

"戒煙大贏家" 比賽宣揚 愛自己 愛家人 共享無煙健康生活信息
2009.09.18
香港吸煙與健康委員會今年以「戒煙大贏家」為口號,開展一系列以戒煙及無煙香港為主題的宣傳活動,聯同香港大學護理學系、公共衛生學院及電視廣播有限公司攜手合辦「戒煙大贏家」活動,向全港市民展示戒煙對個人及社會的好處,鼓勵市民戒煙及支持家人、朋友戒煙,共同投入無煙的健康生活。委員會於5至7月份在港九新界各區23個地點舉行招募活動,整項活動成功招募了逾1000名市民加入戒煙行列。經過面試挑選,四名參賽者於9月18日晚上參與電視遊戲節目,在將軍澳電視城角逐「戒煙大贏家」冠軍寶座,贏取豐富獎金及獎品!
 
節目開首由主禮嘉賓食物及衞生局局長周一嶽醫生GBS太平紳士、 衞生署署長林秉恩醫生太平紳士、香港吸煙與健康委員會主席劉文文MH太平紳士、香港大學公共衛生學院羅旭龢基金公共衛生學教授林大慶教授太平紳士及香港大學護理學系護理學教授暨系主任陳肇始教授為比賽揭開序幕,一眾嘉賓合力砌出「戒」字,象徵只要大家同心合力,就一定能夠成功戒煙。他們亦向觀眾作出呼籲,希望全港市民支持無煙,更要保護家人免受吸煙和二手煙的禍害,讓我們的下一代建立健康的生活態度。開幕禮後由熊熊兒童合唱團小朋友演唱委員會最新系列宣傳片「全城戒煙篇」主題曲 - 「戒煙我撐你」,帶出無煙新一代的信息。
 
周一嶽局長表示﹕「我年輕的時候亦曾經有吸煙的習慣,但最後因為不想再受煙草影響自己的健康而決心戒煙。我明白戒煙困難之處,但希望大家為了健康、為了家人,今天便要決心戒煙!」另外,林秉恩署長亦於節目中指出﹕「二手煙會嚴重危害到各位吸煙者家人或朋友的健康,而長期在充滿二手煙的環境生活,患上呼吸道疾病及癌症的風險比普通人為高,二手煙亦增加小朋友患上哮喘的機會。所以,為了家人的健康著想,應趁早戒煙!」
 
委員會主席劉文文亦提到﹕「吸煙會令你患上致命疾病,那麼何時才是戒煙的好時機呢?當然是愈早戒煙對自己愈有好處!所以各位吸煙人士,由今天開始決心戒煙,重過健康新生活吧!」節目上,香港大學公共衛生學院羅旭龢基金公共衛生學教授林大慶教授及香港大學護理學系護理學教授暨系主任陳肇始教授更向觀眾介紹有關戒煙的資訊、提供戒煙小貼士及解答各種戒煙的疑難,鼓勵更多人士加入戒煙行列。另外,四位參賽者除了剖析自己戒煙的心路歷程外,在遊戲環節中還展示戒煙的成果,表演戒煙後練成的必殺技、進行測試一氧化碳含量及參與戒煙問答題測試,表現出自己對煙害的熟悉程度及戒煙的定力和決心。
 
有關該節目的相片已上載於委員會網站 www.smokefree.hk,供市民瀏覽。
 
節目由主禮嘉賓(左起)香港吸煙與健康委員會主席劉文文MH太平紳士、食物及衞生局局長周一嶽醫生GBS太平紳士、 衞生署署長林秉恩醫生太平紳士、香港大學公共衛生學院羅旭龢基金公共衛生學教授林大慶教授太平紳士及香港大學護理學系護理學教授暨系主任陳肇始教授為比賽揭開序幕。
相片 1
節目由主禮嘉賓(左起)香港吸煙與健康委員會主席劉文文MH太平紳士、食物及衞生局局長周一嶽醫生GBS太平紳士、 衞生署署長林秉恩醫生太平紳士、香港大學公共衛生學院羅旭龢基金公共衛生學教授林大慶教授太平紳士及香港大學護理學系護理學教授暨系主任陳肇始教授為比賽揭開序幕。
 
香港大學公共衛生學院羅旭龢基金公共衛生學教授林大慶教授太平紳士向觀眾介紹有關戒煙的資訊、提供戒煙小貼士及解答各種戒煙的疑難。
相片 2
香港大學公共衛生學院羅旭龢基金公共衛生學教授林大慶教授太平紳士向觀眾介紹有關戒煙的資訊、提供戒煙小貼士及解答各種戒煙的疑難。
 
香港吸煙與健康委員會主席劉文文MH太平紳士頒發獎座予比賽亞軍郭偉先先生。
相片 3
香港吸煙與健康委員會主席劉文文MH太平紳士頒發獎座予比賽亞軍郭偉先先生。
 
衞生署署長譚麗芬醫生太平紳士頒發冠軍獎座予吳永棋先生,恭賀他勇奪「戒煙大贏家」寶座。
相片 4
衞生署署長譚麗芬醫生太平紳士頒發冠軍獎座予吳永棋先生,恭賀他勇奪「戒煙大贏家」寶座。
 
一眾嘉賓與各參賽者進行大合照,祝賀各參賽者能夠成功戒煙,一同成為「戒煙大贏家」!
相片 5
一眾嘉賓與各參賽者進行大合照,祝賀各參賽者能夠成功戒煙,一同成為「戒煙大贏家」!
回到最上