Top Menu

Press Release

Video Competition for Tobacco Control A Call for Participation of Secondary School Students
2009.09.28
Information technology is highly advanced nowadays, and internet has become the major communication tool among young people. Hong Kong Council on Smoking and Health (COSH) and The School of Public Health of The University of Hong Kong (HKU) co-organize the "Video Competition for Tobacco Control" in the school year 2009-10, with a view to promoting the message of tobacco control through this interactive communication platform. The activity appeals to the participation of over 400,000 secondary school students in Hong Kong. Through producing interactive and interesting short videos with the theme of smoking cessation, secondhand smoke and denormalization of smoking, students will be educated with the concept of tobacco control and a "smoke-free" new lifestyle among the younger generation.
 
The School of Public Health of HKU conducted 5 surveys from 1994 to 2008 on adolescent smoking habits and trends in Hong Kong. The research comprises two series of studies, "Youth Smoking and Health Surveys (YSS)" which were conducted in 1994, 1999 and 2003, and "Youth Education and Health (YEAH) School Surveys" conducted in 2006 and 2008, respectively.
 
The above 5 surveys showed a downward trend in the prevalence of current smoking among Form 1-3 students. The smoking rate peaked at 12.7% in 1999 and decreased to 6.0% in 2008, a 53% reduction. Moreover, the intention to quit smoking increased from 2003 to 2008 among Form 1-5 current smoking students. Professor LAM Tai-hing, Director of the School of Public Health of HKU, also one of the consultants of the competition, revealed that the drop in the smoking rate among secondary school students, which has been especially obvious since 2006, shows that the implementation of smokefree legislation in Hong Kong in 2007 was highly effective in curbing smoking.
 
Dr. HO Sai-yin, Daniel, Assistant Professor of the School of Public Health, HKU said, 'Although the research results indicated that there is a substantial drop of smoking rate among Form 1-5 students in the past 10 years, it is still as high as 6.9% in 2008. This implies the tobacco control policies should be further strengthened in order to reduce the harms of smoking to our younger generation."
 
Renowned film director Mr. LEE Lik-chee, another consultant of the competition, encouraged secondary school students to join the competition, because it will be a golden opportunity for students to learn the techniques of producing short videos. They will also benefit by understanding the harm of smoking and secondhand smoke throughout the process. Ms Lisa LAU, MH JP, Chairman of COSH said that the major objective of this competition is to uphold the "say no to smoke" culture.
 
Moreover, the School of Public Health of HKU have invited students of the Baptist Lui Ming Choi Secondary School to produce a demonstrative video for the competition, the students and their teacher shared with the media during the press conference, "Although we know how harmful smoking is to our health when we were small, we understand it more and feel it more deeply throughout the research, preparation and production process of the short video. Now, we will be very determined to say NO to the first try of smoking". The students’ demonstrative video, namely "The Secret of a Macho Man", has been uploaded to www.smokefree.hk/youtube.html for public viewing.
 
The organizers are honoured to have invited renowned film director Mr LEE Lik-chee, cross-media creator Mr Jim CHIM Shui-man, and Prof LAM Tai-hing as consultants of the competition. They will teach participants about video production, acting techniques and tobacco control information in the workshop offered to participants. The competition offers attractive prizes of a total of $50,000 book coupons. The awards include the Champion, 1st runner up, 2nd runner up and 30 Merits, with some special awards such as the Best Actor, the Best Editing and the Best Sound Effects. All participants will be awarded the certificate of "Video Production and IT Application". For details and online registration of the competition, please visit the link: www.smokefree.hk/youtube.html
 
(From left) Dr. Daniel HO, Assistant Professor, School of Public Health, Ms Lisa LAU, MH JP, Chairman of Hong Kong Council on Smoking and Health, Mr. LEE Lik-chee, Renowned Film Director and Prof LAM Tai-hing, Sir Robert Kotewall Professor in Public Health, Director, School of Public Health, The University of Hong Kong.
Photo 1
(From left) Dr. Daniel HO, Assistant Professor, School of Public Health, Ms Lisa LAU, MH JP, Chairman of Hong Kong Council on Smoking and Health, Mr. LEE Lik-chee, Renowned Film Director and Prof LAM Tai-hing, Sir Robert Kotewall Professor in Public Health, Director, School of Public Health, The University of Hong Kong.
 
Prof LAM Tai-hing, Sir Robert Kotewall Professor in Public Health, Director, School of Public Health, The University of Hong Kong Director, School of Public Health.
Photo 2
Prof LAM Tai-hing, Sir Robert Kotewall Professor in Public Health, Director, School of Public Health, The University of Hong Kong Director, School of Public Health.
 
MS Lisa LAU, MH JP, Chairman of Hong Kong Council on Smoking and Health.
Photo 3
MS Lisa LAU, MH JP, Chairman of Hong Kong Council on Smoking and Health.
 
Dr. Daniel HO, Assistant Professor, School of Public Health
Photo 4
Dr. Daniel HO, Assistant Professor, School of Public Health
 
Mr. LEE Lik-chee, Renowned Film Director
Photo 5
Mr. LEE Lik-chee, Renowned Film Director
 
Mr. Felix Du, Teacher and students of Baptist Lui Ming Choi Secondary School
Photo 6
Mr. Felix Du, Teacher and students of Baptist Lui Ming Choi Secondary School
 
Back to Top

新聞稿

控煙短片比賽 全港中學生大招募
2009.09.28
現今資訊發達,互聯網成為了青少年主要的溝通工具,香港吸煙與健康委員會及香港大學公共衛生學院於2009至2010學年合辦「控煙短片比賽」,希望透過這個互動溝通平台宣揚控煙信息。活動誠邀全港超過四十萬名中學參加,拍攝以戒煙、二手煙或異化吸煙為主題的短片,藉著互動及有趣的手法向參賽者傳達控煙的信息,以確立年青新一代無煙文化的生活態度。
 
香港大學公共衛生學院於1994至2008年期間進行了5次問卷調查,以探討青少年吸煙的習慣及趨勢。調查分為兩部分,分別是於1994、1999及2003年舉行的「青少年吸煙與健康問卷調查」,及於2006及2008年舉行的「青少年教育與健康研究計劃」。
 
以上五次調查結果顯示,中一至中三學生的吸煙率有下降趨勢,由1999年最高的12.7%下跌至2008年的6.0%,跌幅達53%。另外,數據亦顯示,於2008年中一至中五吸煙學生中表示有打算戒煙的比例,較2003年為高。比賽顧問之一,香港大學公共衛生學院院長林大慶教授認為,吸煙學生的比例下降,尤於2006年後的下降較明顯,反映2007年推行的室內全面禁煙法例收到相當成效。
 
香港大學公共衛生學院助理教授何世賢博士認為雖然研究數字顯示,中一至中五學生吸煙的比例於過去10年有顯著滑落,但於2008年仍然佔6.9%,反映香港的控煙政策仍須進一步推進,以減少吸煙對青少年的壞影響。
 
另一位比賽顧問著名導演李力持先生亦鼓勵學生積極參與比賽,從中學習到拍攝短片的技巧之餘,更可以在參與過程中深入了解吸煙及二手煙對健康的禍害。香港吸煙與健康委員會主席劉文文MH太平紳士表示,比賽的目標是希望為青年建立正確拒煙文化。
 
另外,香港大學公共衛生學院早前邀請了浸信會呂明才中學拍攝一段控煙短片以作示範,負責老師及製作該短片的學生分享他們於拍攝時的難忘經驗:「雖然我們從小已知道吸煙的禍害,但在今次拍攝短片的預備工作及資料搜集的過程中,我們深切感受到吸煙對健康造成很多的負面影響,令我們更有決心拒絕第一口煙!」會上更播放了他們所拍攝的短片-「型男秘忌」,該短片已上載於委員會網站 www.smokefree.hk/youtube.html ,供公眾瀏覽。
 
主辦單位邀請了著名導演李力持先生、多媒體創作人詹瑞文先生及林大慶教授擔任比賽顧問,為參賽者舉辦工作坊,教授短片製作、演技及控煙資訊等。比賽獎項非常豐富,包括冠、亞、季軍及優異獎共30名,另設有最佳演員獎、最佳剪接獎、最佳音效獎,獎品為總值超過$50,000的書劵,所有參與比賽的學生均可獲「短片製作參與及資訊科技應用」證書一張。比賽詳情及網上報名請參閱以下網站:www.smokefree.hk/youtube.html
 
(左起)香港大學公共衛生學院助理教授何世賢博士、香港吸煙與健康委員會主席劉文文MH太平紳士、著名導演李力持及香港大學公共衛生學院院長羅旭龢基金教授(公共衛生學)林大慶教授
相片 1
(左起)香港大學公共衛生學院助理教授何世賢博士、香港吸煙與健康委員會主席劉文文MH太平紳士、著名導演李力持及香港大學公共衛生學院院長羅旭龢基金教授(公共衛生學)林大慶教授
 
香港大學公共衛生學院院長羅旭龢基金教授(公共衛生學)林大慶教授
相片 2
香港大學公共衛生學院院長羅旭龢基金教授(公共衛生學)林大慶教授
 
香港吸煙與健康委員會主席劉文文MH太平紳士
相片 3
香港吸煙與健康委員會主席劉文文MH太平紳士
 
香港大學公共衛生學院助理教授何世賢博士
相片 4
香港大學公共衛生學院助理教授何世賢博士
 
著名導演李力持
相片 5
著名導演李力持
 
浸信會呂明才中學杜一選老師及學生
相片 6
浸信會呂明才中學杜一選老師及學生
 
回到最上