Top Menu

Tobacco Industry

Youth Smoking Prevention Programme

The tobacco industry multinationals are aggressively promoting their YSP programmes by offering money, expert consultants and support services to governments and civic organizations in drafting tobacco control legislations and carrying out educational and advocacy projects purported to help prevent young people from using their products. The tobacco industry has seized upon the vulnerability of tobacco control advocates who may not be aware of the true intentions of the YSP programmes. The YSP programmes were an attempt for the tobacco industry to promote themselves as "responsible corporate citizens". By accepting to take part in tobacco industry sponsored YSP programmes, these tobacco control advocates have become part of the propaganda machine for the tobacco industry.
The WHO publication of "Seeing Beneath the Surface" exposes the true intentions of the tobacco industry sponsored YSP programmes and provides a rapid test to examine the effectiveness of prevention programmes on youth smoking in our community. At the press conference, COSH demonstrated to the media how to use the rapid test in evaluating youth smoking prevention programmes.
In summary, the main pitfalls of tobacco industry sponsored YSP programmes include the following:
  • the health messages are ineffective, and if anything likely to encourage smoking;
  • these initiatives come with substantial public relations and image building such as ineffective youth smoking prevention initiatives that detract from meaningful tobacco policies;
  • the YSP initiatives aim to define the problem of youth smoking only as a young persons' issue, disregarding the harm done to addicted smokers and the medical expenses incurred from smoking related diseases.
There is no credible evidence to back the tobacco companies' YSP initiatives and plenty to suggest they are likely to be ineffective and likely to be harmful, and primarily a public relations tool. Rather than protecting youth from tobacco, these YSP programmes may actually encourage an increase in youth smoking. COSH pledged for public support in following WHO recommendations to examine the effectiveness of prevention programmes on youth smoking that are currently taking place in the community. The tobacco industry funded YSP programmes are marketing tools that thwart the genuine efforts of tobacco control advocates in reducing tobacco consumption.
 
Related Links:
 
 
Back to Top

烟草业

防止青少年吸烟计划

世界各地的烟草公司均向有关政府及民间组织提供金钱、专业顾问及支援服务,以协助他们起草有关控烟的法例,並举办教育及倡导项目,声称以此协助防止青少年使用他们的產品,借机自我宣传为「具责任心的企业公民」。不少社会人士未有细心分析这些「防止青少年吸烟计划」运动的效用,以及烟草公司的动机,对此不加置疑,並全然接受此为负责任企业的行为,间接成为烟草產品的宣传工具。
为此,世卫於《究底寻真》出版物中,除了揭示烟草业名不符实的偽善行为外,並加入了一个快速测试,以帮助验证社会上各种形形式式的「防止青少年吸烟计划」是否真正奏效,还是烟草產品的另类宣传。在新闻发佈会上,委员会亦展示各界如何利用快速测试,以辨识本港「防止青少年吸烟计划」的真偽,及了解烟草业一贯的公关技俩。
总括而言,烟草业赞助的防止青少年吸烟计划之种种问题可归纳为以下几方面:
  • 选择的讯息本身並无实效,反而加强吸烟代表成年或反叛的意识,甚或有鼓吹吸烟的倾向;
  • 此类计划配合大量的公关及形象建立活动,利用举办无效的防止青少年吸烟计划,以减损有效的控烟政策;
  • 单独针对「青少年吸烟」问题,將其定位为只与年青人有关的事项。而对因吸烟成癮、医疗开支所造成的负担,却避而不谈。
综观世界各地,没有任何可靠证据支持烟草商的防止青少年吸烟计划,相反证明其无效甚或有害者却为数眾多。这些计划非但不能保障青少年免受烟草之害,更可能促使青少年吸烟人数上升。有鑑於此,吸烟与健康委员会公开呼吁社会各界,採用世卫设计的快速测试,验证社会上种种掛著「防止青少年吸烟计划」旗帜的活动,避免因为烟草业藉著公关策略作自我宣传,令本港的控烟工作进程受到阻碍。
 
相关网页:
 
 
回到最上